Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 11-01-2019, 10:28 PM   #43

Quote:
Originally Posted by dkoldman View Post
I am not a professional but a device can do both, Split and be a switch. It can be referenced by user as either a Switch or Splitter.

The device I just bought today is 2 X 4 so that means it...

1. It is a Splitter and can takes one HDMI feed and duplicates the content times 4 ports. I only need 3 so it is more than what I need.

2. It is a Switch and takes an TWO inputs and puts it across 4 of the available outputs at choice.

I am am out $40. When it comes I will advise how well it works. If it does not work, I will return as it has 1 year warranty.
If it's 2x4 then it's a matrix switch, not a splitter.
I am an "industry professional". We design, sell and automate these systems in residences and commercial installations.

No biggie, it's just easier to understand when conventional terminology is used.

Gotta link to the one you bought?
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!