Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-26-2015, 08:26 PM   #1
Community Moderator

Newmar Owners Club
I've had it with Rand McNally!

For several years I've heard complaints about Rand McNally GPS systems. You can now add me to that group. I have been using an RVND7710 for several years and it has had it'shortfalls. However, I have found that Rand McNally does listen to the reports of their errors. I have notified then several time that the Garden State Pkwy in New Jersey is not weight restricted for RVs. The GPS tries constantly to make you exit the road. I usually have to turn it off to avoid the nuisance.
Today was the last straw. Traveling across Illinois to Wisconsin I followed the instructions to I90-I94. I knew this was the way to go. However the GPS kept trying to make me get off at EVERY exit. I have no clue where I would have wound up if I had followed the instructions.
When I settled down at our CG for the night I checked all the settings thinking maybe it wasn't allowing freeways. Nope, all the settings were correct! I tried to reach Rand McNally and the recorded message said I'd have to call back during business hours mon-fri between 7am and 6pm.
No thank you!! Lesson learned.
TonyDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!