RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2020, 09:17 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
scottandanna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Issaquah/Grand Coulee, WA
Posts: 1,024
Just throwing this out there. Can I run a cabin off my 50A wire?

Here is the layout. I blew out a WIRE (i think) at my cabin a couple weeks back, and the electrician is stumped. Thanksgiving is this next weekend, so I could definitely use some power in the cabin.

We have some property with a power pole that has a 30A and a 50A connection for trailers, then a shed and small cabin running off of 2 20A circuits. One of those circuits has died and we cannot find the source of the malfunction.

I have a 50A RV power cable. I have an unused 50A circuit. I only need about 20 amps from it but never hurts to have more. Is there any SAFE way to hook the 50A cable to some sort of power strip so I can create a couple of portable 110 outlets for the cabin for the Thanksgiving weekend?

Just a short-term fix until I/electrician can find the source of our dead circuit.
__________________
2015 24' Rockwood UltraLite 2304DS w/Equal-I-Zer 4-Point 1000lb sway control.
2014 39' Montana 3402RL (full-time)
Towing with 2018 Ram 2500 and 2014 Ecodiesel Grand Cherokee
scottandanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-22-2020, 09:35 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 177
You can get adapters to do this.

Here is an entire extension cord, 50A to 15A in outlets:

https://www.amazon.com/Parkworld-886...rv+50a&sr=8-14

If you just want a pigtail that converts from 50A to 15A plugs:

https://www.amazon.com/yodotek-House...rv+50a&sr=8-40
jrollf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 09:42 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
R.Wold's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Freightliner Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Rosemary Farm, Northern Ca
Posts: 3,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottandanna View Post
Here is the layout. I blew out a WIRE (i think) at my cabin a couple weeks back, and the electrician is stumped. Thanksgiving is this next weekend, so I could definitely use some power in the cabin.

We have some property with a power pole that has a 30A and a 50A connection for trailers, then a shed and small cabin running off of 2 20A circuits. One of those circuits has died and we cannot find the source of the malfunction.

I have a 50A RV power cable. I have an unused 50A circuit. I only need about 20 amps from it but never hurts to have more. Is there any SAFE way to hook the 50A cable to some sort of power strip so I can create a couple of portable 110 outlets for the cabin for the Thanksgiving weekend?

Just a short-term fix until I/electrician can find the source of our dead circuit.
I guess you could adapt down from your 50a cable with a couple “dog bones” to get to a 20a female and plug in a power strip and run extension cords, but this would be a really sub-optimal and entirely temporary solution. Also you would only be on one leg of the 50 so you would be limited accordingly.

Edit: or just do what Jrollf said....
__________________
Actively pursuing a solution/resolution to the SCR/DEF issue
Current Coach: MoCa (Mobile Cabin) 2016 Ventana 3427
R.Wold is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 09:50 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Los Angeles area
Posts: 875
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrollf View Post
You can get adapters to do this.

Here is an entire extension cord, 50A to 15A in outlets:

https://www.amazon.com/Parkworld-886...rv+50a&sr=8-14

If you just want a pigtail that converts from 50A to 15A plugs:

https://www.amazon.com/yodotek-House...rv+50a&sr=8-40
The first link above is a RV plug, the second is a dryer plug.

I don't think the dryer plug is going to work...

Mike
__________________
Semi-retired technogeek...electronics / computer network / 2-way / ham radio... WA6ILQ
1985 Fleetwood 32' Southwind (Chev P30/454/TH400), dubbed "Lazarus" by friends... I resurrected it from the dead...
AnotherMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 09:58 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
R.Wold's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Freightliner Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Rosemary Farm, Northern Ca
Posts: 3,369
Just make sure it says NEMA 14-50, R for receptacle, P for plug. Both the links show a 14-50P.
__________________
Actively pursuing a solution/resolution to the SCR/DEF issue
Current Coach: MoCa (Mobile Cabin) 2016 Ventana 3427
R.Wold is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 10:00 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherMike View Post
The first link above is a RV plug, the second is a dryer plug.

I don't think the dryer plug is going to work...

Mike
The 2nd one has a funky listing. Some of the images show RV style, some show household style.


This one should work too:

https://www.amazon.com/Parkworld-886...rv+50a&sr=8-29
jrollf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 10:05 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
scottandanna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Issaquah/Grand Coulee, WA
Posts: 1,024
Awesome! Sounds easy (and safe) enough! I will look for one of those today.
__________________
2015 24' Rockwood UltraLite 2304DS w/Equal-I-Zer 4-Point 1000lb sway control.
2014 39' Montana 3402RL (full-time)
Towing with 2018 Ram 2500 and 2014 Ecodiesel Grand Cherokee
scottandanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 10:11 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottandanna View Post
Awesome! Sounds easy (and safe) enough! I will look for one of those today.
Just remember the circuit breaker is 50 Amp, any 115v item will burn up before kicking the breaker. Highly suggest using a power strip with a built in breaker for protection.
jrollf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 10:16 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
R.Wold's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Freightliner Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Rosemary Farm, Northern Ca
Posts: 3,369
These split the 50a service so you get two 20a receptacles or a 20 and 30 respectively. The others would seem to just pull from one leg.

https://www.amazon.com/Conntek-Y1450...8012FY4SDTGF4V

https://www.amazon.com/Conntek-14963.../dp/B002MGSNNQ

Or you could just make one for about half the cost.
__________________
Actively pursuing a solution/resolution to the SCR/DEF issue
Current Coach: MoCa (Mobile Cabin) 2016 Ventana 3427
R.Wold is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 11:24 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 87
I’d have serious, serious reservations about an “electrician” who couldn’t resolve such a simple problem.
Jkwilson1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 01:07 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Boston,ma
Posts: 534
I agree. There are Electricians and then there are "Electricians". Also why couldn't the Electrician wire this up for you that you needed to come to the Forum for help. He ( or she ) really doesn't sound very professional.
Roy-c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 04:04 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Alan_Hepburn's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: San Jose, Ca, USA
Posts: 1,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrollf View Post
Just remember the circuit breaker is 50 Amp, any 115v item will burn up before kicking the breaker. Highly suggest using a power strip with a built in breaker for protection.
Just so you know - a 50A RV outlet is 120V/240V while a standard 15/20A household outlet is 120V (not 115V or 110V anymore!). The RV outlet provides 2 separate lines of 120V power - anything you plug into that line will be limited by the current it needs to operate. It has 50A available to it, but if it only needs 5A to operate then that's all it will draw. The only way an appliance will "burn up" is if it develops an internal short - under normal use this should not happen. To eliminate this issue simply put a protected outlet between your source and load...
__________________
Alan Hepburn - San Jose, Ca
2007 Bounder 35E being pushed by a 2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (JKU) Sport
Good Sam Member #566004 * FMCA Member #F431612
Alan_Hepburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 04:31 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Bill Gail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Washington
Posts: 291
In construction what we use for power distribution is what's called a " Spider Box" .

It is a metal box approx 16" x16" x 6" tall . It has a 220v twist lock recepticle for power supply and 6 fused 120v /15amp GFIC outlets.

We used power tools in rain storms with no issues . For protection this is the Safest way to distribute temporary power.

They can be rented from any large rental company.
The 220v power supply cord can also be rented .
Bill Gail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2020, 06:57 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
R.Wold's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Freightliner Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Rosemary Farm, Northern Ca
Posts: 3,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan_Hepburn View Post
Just so you know - a 50A RV outlet is 120V/240V while a standard 15/20A household outlet is 120V (not 115V or 110V anymore!). The RV outlet provides 2 separate lines of 120V power - anything you plug into that line will be limited by the current it needs to operate. It has 50A available to it, but if it only needs 5A to operate then that's all it will draw. The only way an appliance will "burn up" is if it develops an internal short - under normal use this should not happen. To eliminate this issue simply put a protected outlet between your source and load...
I think thatís what Jrollf was saying - in the event of a malfunction (short) the appliance and/or wiring will burn up long before tripping a 50a breaker.
__________________
Actively pursuing a solution/resolution to the SCR/DEF issue
Current Coach: MoCa (Mobile Cabin) 2016 Ventana 3427
R.Wold is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can fill fresh tank just fine, but can't run on city water justinjbaron Newmar Owner's Forum 25 04-28-2020 09:20 PM
On-off on off on off off off rear view camera Bahcml Newmar Owner's Forum 5 08-12-2019 11:44 PM
Can we go yet, Can we go yet, Can we go yet, Can we go yet, Can we go yet mothgrey Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 11-18-2013 05:51 PM
50A RV to 50A Welder dogbone Ramblin iRV2.com General Discussion 17 08-04-2013 01:05 PM
TRUE 50a vs BOGUS 50a AFChap MH-General Discussions & Problems 18 08-02-2010 09:26 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.