Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-23-2020, 09:06 AM   #1

My first stupid question: Propane

I just signed up on this forum and made a promise on the New Members thread to the community that, as a newbie, I would bombard them with lots of stupid questions.

OK, I'll back off and try not to bombard. But I would be remiss if I didn't post at least one dumb question on my first day. It's about something I've been musing over since I'm considering doing a bit of dry camping in a Class B van this winter.

The propane tanks on these vans are pretty small, and I anticipate the furnace will use fuel prodigiously.

So, first of all, where do you get the propane tank filled up? It seems to me gas stations and hardware stores these days deal with propane by swapping out 20lb grill tanks, not filling up RV built-in tanks. I have no idea about how to go about obtaining LP.

Secondly, is it safe to carry extra propane in one of those 20 lb tanks? Where would you secure it in a van? If you had a MH with exterior storage compartments, would you dare put a propane tank in them?

And... if you do carry a spare propane tank, it is possible to hook it to the RV gas intake to cook and heat with?

That's it... no more stupid questions today!
amazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!