Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-04-2009, 01:20 PM   #1

Appalachian Campers
Hi all,
I have never been any further west than central Kentucky, so I have no knowledge of the weather conditions/ patterns in the Northwest, and in the Northern Mid west. My daughter is in the Air Force, currently at Kadeena AFB in Okinawa. In February, she goes to her new assignment at Mountain Home AFB. in Idaho. She is 23 years old, has very little experience in driving in snow. She is a good driver though. She has the idea in her head to drive from our home in Eastern North Carolina, to her base in Idaho in the middle of February. She will be traveling by herself, with a 1 1/2 year old child, in an older model Chevy Blazer that is 2 WD. I am looking for thoughts, suggestions, and opinions as to the saftey, and "wiseness" of this trip at that time of the year. I think she needs to fly there, but I am an overprotective parent, and grand-parent talking. What do you think?
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!