Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-03-2016, 01:32 PM   #1

Negotiating the deal

Background information:
I've been shopping for two years with the intent on going FT. This was put on hold a year ago because of an i jury I suffered at work. I am now disabled, and I can actually make this happen.

I found what appears to be the perfect coach. A 2001 Newmar Mountain Aire 4095. It is the floor plan and colors I want and appears to be in good condition. It is at a local dealer but I found it on RVTrader. I have Emailed the dealer and asked specific questions about the coach. I asked specifically about tires, batteries, drive train and generator maintenance records, leaks, water damage and if the Norcold fridge had the recall work done.

The dealer returned my Email the next day. Tires are old 2009 & 2011. Batteries are old, 2009. No maintenance records.

Asking price is $59999, which is above NADA average retail. ($54899) including options and previous owner upgrades. PPL's website of similar items sold show in the last year selling prices from $45k to $52k.

My thoughts are thus. Offer $45K as is (folowing professional inspection and engine tranny oil analysis) Offer $50k with new tires (and not China Bombs ) and batteries and $55k with Tires, Batteries and an extended warranty contract.

Thoughts? Comments? Suggestions?

Thanks
David
EMDF9A is offline   Reply With Quote