RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-25-2020, 12:40 PM   #1

Odd Next of Kin question

I got into a discussion about next of kin notification in a "worst case scenario" situation.
We are full-timers with South Dakota mail box address and DL's. But no ties to SD. We have no children and the neighbors of our last address would have no idea how to reach our family members. We don't do Face-book. We have asked a 1st cousin in the Navy to be our Trustee. Also, a 2nd trustee is in WA. I am also a proud vet with a VA card. I have updated the ICE in our individual phones, should they survive. We have a Next of Kin form on our fridge should it survive.

In a "worse case scenario", where we are involved in a car accident where both us die and/or major fire of the coach including wallet/purse/cell phones, ... how would our trustees be notified?

The police would know our names from the license plates, but how would our next of kin (trustees) be notified? If Barney Fife looked hard enough he "might" contact the VA for information which WOULD reveal all the next of kin information. But I have no faith the medical examiner or Barney would go the "extra mile"!

Is there some data base somewhere the police/medical examiners use that I could volunteer my information for this purpose?
What do other full-timers / homeless travelers do to ensure the next of kin is notified?
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!