Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-01-2018, 07:45 PM   #1

Open jaw rental itinerary: SEA-SF. Thoughts?

Hello everyone. I am a newbie planning a large family trip (2 x Class A's) of the western state National Parks next August and I welcome feedback on proposed trip….

So far we are tempted to do a one-way ('open jaw') type of rental, starting in Seattle and ending in San Francisco. In terms of time/destinations, we're thinking 15-16 days and the following itinerary: Sea --> Vancouver --> Banff--> Glacier --> Yellowstone --> Bryce --> Zion --> Vegas --> Yosemite --> SF. Google maps pegs it at 2,900 miles and 49 hours of driving. (Note: the 1st night would be in Vancouver, and the last (15th/16th) night would be in Yosemite, before dropping off the next/final day in SF.)

So...a few questions for the more experienced/savvy amongst you...any/all thoughts appreciated...

1. Are Class A's too much to handle for newbies?

2. Is the itinerary too much/too ambitious?

3. Might the rental company object to a part of the trip going in to Canada?

3. If we get on it now (12 months in advance), will we be able to make all the necessary RV park reservations?

4. Any other thoughts for newbies?

Thanks much!!
VagabondVal is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!