Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2017, 01:34 PM   #1
Registered User
 
Newmar Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 4,774
Question Putting a Hughes Autoformer in between coach cable and coach

In referring a friend the Hughes Autoformer I discovered the video on their home page which I watched. What I was surprised to learn is it is not weather proof. The video showed them putting a trash can over it, not a great show. Hughes needs to do something about that problem. So they mentioned putting it in the coach, okay, that's fine and I could just use my 30ft 50A extension cable on the way from CW that I just ordered. Defeats the nice 50ft one in the coach on a power reel.

So I was thinking, should I just wire it in between the coaches reel and the coach? I guess I'd need to get a 50A male plug to go from the coaches line to the Autoformer then a female for the other side so the Hughes goes inline.

Anyone done this? Anyone had a problem with their Hughes Autoformer in the weather?
NealC is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-10-2017, 01:39 PM   #2
owr
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 129
That's exactly what I did ...just wired a plug in the electrical compartment for it to plug into and the coach cord plugs Into the auto former ....I used a couple small pieces of 1"x1" aluminium angle to keep it from sliding around and WAA LAA !! work great no theft issues either ...


Hope that helps !

Phil
__________________
2018 Tiffan Phaeton 40IH diesel pusher..
Cummins /Allison 10 KW gen,
Demsco SS dolly
owr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 01:43 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Oroville, CA
Posts: 3,133
I guess I question the need for an autoformer at all. If the park has low voltage, the autoformer will increase the use of amps from the park to compensate; somewhere, a breaker will say, I've had enough. watts = power and volts x amps = watts. No getting around Ohms law. I know about multi-tap transformers, but they simply can't make something (volts) out of nothing without increasing amps.

I have had low voltage at a park or two, my power monitoring system clicks on and off and protects the MH. Just unclear as why an autoformer is needed.
__________________
Bill, Kathi and Zorro; '05 Beaver Patriot Thunder
2012 Sunnybrook Harmony 21FBS (SQEZINN)
2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
cruzbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 04:49 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by cruzbill View Post
I guess I question the need for an autoformer at all. If the park has low voltage, the autoformer will increase the use of amps from the park to compensate; somewhere, a breaker will say, I've had enough. watts = power and volts x amps = watts. No getting around Ohms law. I know about multi-tap transformers, but they simply can't make something (volts) out of nothing without increasing amps.



I have had low voltage at a park or two, my power monitoring system clicks on and off and protects the MH. Just unclear as why an autoformer is needed.


If you run your A/C units at low voltage, say just above where the EMS will cut power, you are already using more amps. If my Hughes will keep me running safely in these cases then it's doing a good job in my estimation.
__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 04:51 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by NealC View Post
In referring a friend the Hughes Autoformer I discovered the video on their home page which I watched. What I was surprised to learn is it is not weather proof. The video showed them putting a trash can over it, not a great show. Hughes needs to do something about that problem. So they mentioned putting it in the coach, okay, that's fine and I could just use my 30ft 50A extension cable on the way from CW that I just ordered. Defeats the nice 50ft one in the coach on a power reel.



So I was thinking, should I just wire it in between the coaches reel and the coach? I guess I'd need to get a 50A male plug to go from the coaches line to the Autoformer then a female for the other side so the Hughes goes inline.



Anyone done this? Anyone had a problem with their Hughes Autoformer in the weather?


It's not waterproof but so long as it's not sitting in a puddle, it seems to be ok. I did move mine inside by doing exactly what you propose.
__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 05:33 PM   #6
NRR
Senior Member
 
Solo Rvers Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 817
Per Hughes site ďAn Autoformer running at full output (50amps) will use 1 amp, but will cause appliances to cycle more often and run cooler. This will use less total power from the park.Ē

Their spec is the device will add or subtract up to 10V depending on the input voltage from the pedestal. So if the input is 105V your rig sees 115V. That makes air conditioners very happy. They run cooler and longer. The Progressive devices will let your AC units try to chug along if the pedestal voltage is 105V. Not a good thing for them.

The box has the same indicators as the Progressive units with the exception of amperage usage on the newest Progressive units. Also comparing 30A to 30A units Progressive has 1790J spike protection (think lightening) and the Hughes has 4800J.

The Hughes device has two draw backs. They weigh more and they cost more. Like $109 more. Worth every penny in my mind. When I get enough pennies I am going Hughes.
__________________
2007 Roadtrek 210 Popular
Chevy 6.0
2015 GMC Terrain
NRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 05:38 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
palehorse89's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10,295
I would not use/travel with my Coach without
my auto former.........
__________________
2012 Essex 4544 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006 Ultra & 1989 Springer, 2003 Harley-Davidson
FLHR Road King Anniversary
palehorse89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 06:17 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,580
Quote:
Originally Posted by cruzbill View Post
I guess I question the need for an autoformer at all.
I have had low voltage at a park or two, my power monitoring system clicks on and off and protects the MH. Just unclear as why an autoformer is needed.

The autoformer equipped folks are enjoying their AC while others are enjoying the clicking.

I use a waste basket for both weather protection and to keep it out of sight. With two identical waste baskets that nest, there is no wasted space when not using one for a cover.
lynnmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 06:20 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
tmw188's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: St. Charles MO
Posts: 4,920
Send a message via AIM to tmw188
I don't have a fancy power management monitor just a voltage monitor I plug into a receptacle I keep an eye on. I've seen it as high as 129v down to 112v. Will the Hughes unit also control the high end over maybe 130 volts?
__________________
2002 Monaco Windsor 40PST 2019 Equinox 1.5L, Blue OX Aventa LX tow bar, Roadmaster EZ5 baseplate, SMI Stay-In-Play Duo, TireSafeGuard TPMS
tmw188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 06:37 PM   #10
Registered User
 
Newmar Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 4,774
Quote:
Originally Posted by NRR View Post
Per Hughes site ďAn Autoformer running at full output (50amps) will use 1 amp, but will cause appliances to cycle more often and run cooler. This will use less total power from the park.Ē

Their spec is the device will add or subtract up to 10V depending on the input voltage from the pedestal. So if the input is 105V your rig sees 115V. That makes air conditioners very happy. They run cooler and longer. The Progressive devices will let your AC units try to chug along if the pedestal voltage is 105V. Not a good thing for them.

The box has the same indicators as the Progressive units with the exception of amperage usage on the newest Progressive units. Also comparing 30A to 30A units Progressive has 1790J spike protection (think lightening) and the Hughes has 4800J.

The Hughes device has two draw backs. They weigh more and they cost more. Like $109 more. Worth every penny in my mind. When I get enough pennies I am going Hughes.


I think it's 10% not 10v from their video on their site.
NealC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2017, 08:43 AM   #11
NRR
Senior Member
 
Solo Rvers Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 817
NealC you are correct. It is 10%. My bad.
__________________
2007 Roadtrek 210 Popular
Chevy 6.0
2015 GMC Terrain
NRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2017, 11:53 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Smitty77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Over the next hill, around the next curve...
Posts: 5,639
Yes to mounting inside, and the 'plug & play' approach allows maximum and fast flexibility. (See Toasted Hughes below!)

Yes to running AC, while others in a park may not be able to do so. (At least 5 times in the last three years we've been able to do so.)

We mount ours in front of our EMS, because the EMS would cut out earlier then the Hughes. (Lower Voltage would be cut off by our TRC (OEM from Country Coach) Where as the Hughes would accept a bit lower voltage, do it's thing, and then pass it in thru the TRC.

Toasted Hughes - In a park in the Yukon, an unauthorized person went into the generator shed to 'fix something'. Resulted in a power surge so strong, that it melted the Hughes's internal wiring. By having the 'plug & play' approach, just unplugged the Hughes, reverting back to Shore Power feeding the TRC. (The surge did knock the then Norcold 1200 Control Board off line. So a full day driving back to Whitehorse for a tech to help us. A reset of the Control Board got us chilling again!)

I have another Hughes now (The older generation which I prefer. Craigslist find.) I also bought a used Progressive EMS, which I as I understand it, has the same Low Voltage threshold as the Hughes. So eventually I'll move this into the mix in front of the Hughes, keeping the TRC as a spare. (Hughes is more expensive to replace then the EMS.)

I consider the Hughes to be an important part of our overall electrical system.

Best to all, may the power be with you,
Smitty
__________________
07 Country Coach Magna Rembrandt 45' ISX600
Roo II was our 04 Country Coach Allure 40'
OnDRoad for The JRNY! Enjoy life...
Smitty77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hughes Autoformer and surge protector JEEPOHOLIC RV Systems & Appliances 6 04-18-2017 04:28 AM
Hughes Autoformer and Surge Protection BlauMax Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 10 10-19-2011 11:55 AM
Hughes autoformer versus buck and boost paintman607 MH-General Discussions & Problems 16 08-13-2010 05:45 AM
Hughes Autoformer & Mexico Greyhound RV Systems & Appliances 3 01-05-2009 04:48 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.