Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 12-08-2022, 06:40 PM   #1

Rookie Considering Purchase

Hello all,

I am completely new to this and just starting my research. I've always loved the idea of RVing and recently rented a Class A motorhome with the family for a weekend.

I'm now considering a purchase but I am thoroughly lost on travel trailer vs motorhome, although I really prefer the motorhome concept.

We have 2 children ages 7 & 10 and realistically won't have a ton of time to do trips between their sports activities and life itself.

So, given I just rented one myself, I'm considering a purchase but will definitely rent it on RVshare, etc to A-not waste it sitting in a lot, B-recoup some of the expense.

I don't even know where to start but looked at a few class A and C motorhomes. I don't own a truck so if I went travel trailer, I would have to get a pick up and don't want anything bigger than an 1/2 ton.

Few questions to start:
1. If you're considering renting it, what would be most rentable?
2. If you go with a motorhome, class A or C for family of 4? I didn't mind driving the class A rental, but thinking many people may be scared to drive them compared to C
3. Top 3 quality brands that won't give me too much of a headache maintianing

I realize I will get many mixed opinions here but I really need a starting point!!

Thanks in advance for your knowledge
JAC34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!