Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-06-2014, 04:27 PM   #1

State/ National park 30' limits... is that really a big deal?

Newbie here...

I keep hearing that state and national parks limit RVs to 30' in length and that anything over needs to find a RV resort campground instead. Yet I've talked to a couple of guys in California who claim to get away with getting in to State parks with their 38' and 40' MHs; although they say you have to know where to go and which spots to choose.

With that in mind...

I'm presently shopping for a new TT, 5er or Class A. We have two kids and we've decided that bunks are a must (I really don't deal with putting a dinette away every day and ensuing mess that pre-teens create). This will be our home for a while as we have already completely moved out of our SB home and listed for sale. We plan to go on 6-9 month RV trip (maybe 1 yr), starting in June, interspersed with a few trips to maybe Hawaii, Europe or maybe a cruise (to break up any monotony that may set in from being a family of 4 living in an RV for that long). We will also be homeschooling the kids on the road during that time.