RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-21-2021, 12:59 PM   #1

Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
This ought to stir up some controversy

Well I've done it now.
As an engineer I usually never believe the internet and especially "Opinions" posted.
I did my usual research looking for someone that has equipment and time to test theories.
K&Ns suck, well no. You know, gauze filters kill engines.
But here are some real test results in the attachment.
Yes gauze filters do allow more dust to get through. But how many have you drive on dirt roads? I don't. My GPS is set to "NO DIRT ROADS".
Since 1985 I have driven every vehicle with a Gauze filter. Includes motorcycles driven on dirt, and 13 cars probably 3/4 million miles.
Oh ya, no dust down stream of the filter...
I average 1-3 more MPG on cars.
3-4 more mpg on motorcycles.
Always more throttle response. (My Accord is jerky now)
More seat of the pants acceleration. That's uphill improvement.

But don't believe I don't know anything, JUST READ THE ATTACHMENT!
Attached Files
File Type: pdf OEM vs KN filters.pdf (196.4 KB, 10 views)
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!