Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-30-2014, 06:44 AM   #1

To buy or not to buy!?

Hi
I am brand new to the world of RVs and boy do I have a lot to learn!
My partner and I have been visiting a campground in Truro Ma for a few years when we vacation up there. We dream of owning a RV that we will keep at this campground and visit every other weekend for three or four days.

Every year that we visit we check for any RVs that are for sale. This year we thought we found the one! There was a notice on the RV bulletin board for a 2005 Open Road 357RLDS-5. We dropped by the site and immediately fell in love with it. The asking price was 16 OBO. It has all the bells and whistles and appears well cared for. We made an offer the next morning for 14k, which was accepted. We based our bid on NADA guide and this seemed like a fair offer.

When I got home the owner emailed me the purchase agreement. The purchase agreement said that I was buying a 2003 not a 2005 unit. I immediately contacted the owner, who explained that the ad on the bulletin board was posted by the woman staying in the unit and she for some reason she thought it was a 2005. It is indeed a 2003. The next line was "is this a problem". Well yeah, it is a problem. I based my bid on a 2005, not a 2003 and my bank will only offer financing for a unit that is 10 years or younger.