Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-20-2019, 01:10 PM   #1

Vehicle+TT or Class C and Pet Complications

I'm going round and round in my head with pros and cons and want others' opinions.

I currently drive a small gas efficient Honda Fit, and I have a 25 lb dog and a 75 lb dog.

Now, I'd like to kit out for weekend RVing for not too much money. I'm a noob and don't know if I'll even like it much. However, as I just moved to Colorado, it seems like an efficient way to see the sights with dogs in tow.

I'm getting stuck with my options. To get a TT that's big enough for a large Golden Retriever/Rottie mix who doesn't think he's allowed on the furniture (i.e. there's got to be enough floor space for him to turn his arse around and walk the other direction) should he choose, I'd need a large SUV or truck and the TT.

Or, I could get a Class C.

Pricing-wise it's looking like (either new or used) TT+truck = Class C. So that's a wash. I've read enough to know that maintenance on TT+truck is probably easier with the benefit of then having a vehicle to run around in once at a destination. HOWEVER, I really don't want to drive a huge ass SUV or truck as my primary vehicle and I just can't see the need to keep and insure two vehicles (but dumbass, you'd have to be doing that with a class C too, duh!).

Thoughts?
saffikeagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!