RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 11-19-2020, 12:52 PM   #1

Red face What is your “why”?

I get asked about this in a lot of threads as I learn- Why are you looking at expensive Rigs? Why are you looking at RVs at all at your age (45)? A lot of ‘WHY’? Fair question.

I flew darn near for a living for several years. Now, I hate airports in general. Don’t like flying either. Plus I’m really too big to fly- we circumfrentially challenged aren’t exactly welcomed on planes.

My wife is on oxygen and quite honestly the hassle of flying with oxygen is a pain in the six as they say.

I also LOVE driving. I originally wanted to be a truck driver, but medicine called louder to me. If what I do ever stops working out I’ll switch to it in a heartbeat- good honest work with a real ability to mark something “done” at the end of the day. That’s a luxury I don’t get now.

I like people generally. Especially quirky, bootstrappy, self-made people. I love learning from them even when I don’t like the message sometimes. These people inundate the Class A RV category from what I can see. These are my people.

RVs just are cool. Being in control of that much machine, having that much control over your life, and being independent is awesome. With that said I have all the mechanical skill of a gym sock, so I have a lot to learn. I know there’s a lot to know after the warranty ends, but I’d like a warranty as my training wheels.