Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > New Member Check-In
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-12-2019, 10:34 AM   #1

Complete newb about to travel the country in a DIY van conversion

Hey guys!

Glad I found this place, my name is Andy and I'm in the process of planning a cross country solo trip and after looking at a lot of different options, my plan is to build a Ford Transit into a custom camper van and travel indefinitely.

I haven't bought the van yet (I'll be looking this weekend) but I'm trying to figure out what kinds of things I'll need to build to enjoy some creature comforts while also keeping a fairly modest budget (<$2000 hopefully).

I'm fairly handy with working on cars and 12v electrical systems but mostly from working on custom cars and car stereos, so I could use some help learning how to install a secondary battery system and inverter so I can power things like an electric heater and possibly a microwave and mini fridge.

I'm not sure if I'll have room for a sink, but that's something I'm considering adding as well.

Plan is to build a bed that can convert into a couch with storage beneath is but I haven't figured out the exact layout yet.

I am completely all ears and open to any and all suggestions and advice you can throw at me! I look forward to learning from all you knowledgable folks.
Vandy-W is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!