Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > New Member Check-In
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-14-2013, 04:04 PM   #1

Greetings from Westerville Oh - GO BUCKEYES!

Hello there and greetings from Westerville Oh (a suburb of Columbus). I'm a newbie here if you couldn't already tell. I'm not an owner yet but in the initial "Doing my homework" stage of RV ownership. Any tips on buying older/used rigs is always welcomed.

A little about my world. My name is Jim and I'm 50. I live with my fiance' Robin who is 48. I'm a programmer by profession for a local insurance company. Robin is a nurse and just started a new job at THE Ohio State University/Wexner Medical Center, James Cancer Hospital.

We're on the verge of becomming empty nesters (last kid is finishing college soon) and we're looking at hitting the road, atleast weekends for starters.

We each have our own motorcycles. I drive a 2006 Kawasaki Concours 1000, and she drives a 2002 Yamaha VSTAR 650. Now we're looking to expand our adventures in places other than Ohio. Last year we took them to Lake George NY. That was a blast but the ride up sucked. 14 hours in my Jeep towing our bikes in a rented trailer jsut doesn't cut it anymore. We want our own rig so I'm not paying cabin rent to someone else.

I've done a bit of camping in my youth but haven't for quite some time so I'm no stranger to travel and the great outdoors. I'm going to be in the market for a used rig but probably not until later this year. I have lots of learning to do before I plunk down my money.