Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > New Member Check-In
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-01-2012, 07:15 PM   #1

Vintage RV Owners Club
I think we've made a (*small) step up from a tent!

Hello. Complete noob here. Here's the deal: I build furniture and recycle scrap metals. Bought a 1983 Ford van/Honey (maybe 22 ft) for about half of scrap weight value, and the more I got into it, the more I realized it's a keeper. I've always wanted something better than a Walmart tent and it fell into my lap for a little over 400 bucks.

Only downside I see to it is, a hailstorm took apart the cowl over the a/c, and a section of the ceiling is sagging. Behind that, the framing and outer sheath are solid, no flex whatsoever, as hard as I could push. No soft spots around door, toilet, or any windblow corners.

The thing is complete, down to drinking water hoses, poo pipe, and a half-full propane tank.

Under the hood looks like it was maintained by someone approaching anal-retentive/OCD. What I thought was a crudded up frame is actually that heavy undercoating!

Owner passed a few years ago, family finally got shed of it, and I'm going to see what kind of trouble I can get into when I convince the wife that we SHOULD keep this machine!

Looking forward to grazing and learning, and possibly helping on mechanical/carpenter type issues. I'm thoroughly ignorant of systems on a motorhome right now, but it's not from inability to learn, just inexposure to the systems as they're used on a MH.

Bill
RedneckDog is offline   Reply With Quote