Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > New Member Check-In
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-10-2022, 10:03 AM   #1

Just ANOTHER day in paradise?

I am a disabled vet on a pension ( with a limited budget) and I just bought a 1997 Damon Daybreak 3010.
This is not my first time at the rodeo when it comes to motorhomes. I have been full timing and Snowbirding in various other RVs for over a decade.

The DAMON I purchased seemed to be in exceptional condition in and out, but it had been sitting for ?several? years. First thing I did was inspect the roof ( solid even with my 240 lbs walking around up there), with no rips in the rubber, just some checking that can be fixed with new paint. This classic had only 88,000 miles, it started, ran, and I took it for a short test drive before buying. The 454 TBI gas motor sounded good, felt strong, the transmission shifted where it should, but several of the auxiliary components ( headlights, dash A/C, electric steps,etc, etc, ) were non functional. The Onan generator had only 120 hrs on the clock, and started and ran great. The Onan had been recently serviced, and with the generator running, Roof A/C, microwave, water pump, and interior lights all functioned properly. I did not test the water heater or furnace, as it was 100 degrees in Tucson, and not much cooler where I park in Mexico, but the propane stove lit up nicely. The fridge was missing completely ... The major down side to the deal.