Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > New Member Check-In
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-21-2012, 03:26 PM   #1

Not on the road yet but Soon!

Hi everyone, my husband and I have been talking about full timing when we retire for about 5 years now. Our plan was for us to take early retirement when my yougest graduates from high school and starts college. That will be in 2014. In the meantime I was diagnosed with some medical problems and am now on disability. We are still planning to travel but are now planning to bring my mother in law with us. She is still quite young and is much healthier than I am. We have the tow vehicle, and have a small travel trailer, a keystone outback 23 rs. It is 27ft when the rear bed is out. It may sound small for 3 people, but we have all been camping for years and have taken dozens of cruises together usually with my daughter included. We even used to camp for a week or more in a tiny pop up with my son and his girlfriend. That made 6 of us in a pop up that was less than 17 ft when fully open. Now I know what you're thinking-camping is different than living full time in a travel trailer. I agree, but until we know for sure if I can handle it with my disabilities, and that mom in law wants to keep doing it, we don't want to invest in a big bunk house that we may be stuck trying to get rid of if it doesn't work. And yes, my mother in law has lived with us in the past. And, she and I get along great. She has really been a huge help sinc