Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > New Member Check-In
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2017, 02:49 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 1
TV Booster switch

Greetings, I am a new member and need help with a few things concerning my motorhome. I have a 2011 Tuscany 4051 and need to find the switch for the tv, UHF/VHF switch. I have looked through the owners manual and couldn't fine anything concerning the location of the switch. When we pull into an rv campground that has cable we can only get the first 12 or 13 channels. There has to be a switch somewhere to pick up the other channels. Also I would like to know where the drain is for the fresh water tank. Any help would be appreciated.
rvjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-24-2017, 02:53 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Unplanned Tourist's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Kamloops, BC, 60 miles from the Center of the Universe
Posts: 5,258
Some OTA (over the air) antennas do not have a booster.
__________________
Happy Glamping, Norman & Elna. 2008 Winnebago Adventurer 38J, W24, dozens of small thirsty ponies. Retired after 40 years wrenching on trucks! 2010 Ford Ranger toad with bicycles or KLR 650 in the back. Easy to spot an RVer, they always walk around with a screwdriver or wrench in one hand!
Unplanned Tourist is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 03:10 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
lass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tarpon Springs, Fl.
Posts: 1,458
We could use some more information. Do you have HDMI cables in the Coach or are you using a Video Control Center with coax cables. If it a VCC that box should have a power button.
__________________
2013 Newmar Ventana 3434
2018 Wrangler JLU Rubicon
lass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 03:22 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: western NC mountains!
Posts: 4,106
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by rvjack View Post
Greetings, I am a new member and need help with a few things concerning my motorhome. I have a 2011 Tuscany 4051 and need to find the switch for the tv, UHF/VHF switch. I have looked through the owners manual and couldn't fine anything concerning the location of the switch. When we pull into an rv campground that has cable we can only get the first 12 or 13 channels. There has to be a switch somewhere to pick up the other channels. Also I would like to know where the drain is for the fresh water tank. Any help would be appreciated.


it sounds like the tv is only picking up this many cable channels because the former 'scan' of the tv was on Antenna and had only those channels to lock onto - run your tv SCAN for CABLE input to possibly find all the other cable channels...

normally the Antenna BOOSTER is either the ON button on the switch box(black box with a lot of buttons) in your upper cabinet, or near the living room tv, or it may be a simple button located on a switch plate in a cabinet above the driver/passenger seat.
MisterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 03:23 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
First: as others have said we need to know more

There are basically 3 kinds of TV antennas (Several "Sub" types)
One is what we call the Batwing.. Two metal wings extend out from a central body, May have a "Arm" like extension on the body with short metal wings (Winegard Sensar II, III or IV with Wingman)

Another type is kind of a Swept wing design, the central body is bigger (King Controls JACK)

And two more are "Flying saucers" for want of an easier description.

With the JACK, if it is rotatable you have a box with a switch, knob and a few LED's on it likely around the dial to aim with.. That's not it.

With the Batwing and Jack designs you get to search

Now, this does not always work but think
Where is the MAIN TV,
Where is the Antenna
Visualize the path.. Often the switch box is directly below the antenna inside the RV

OR Behind the Main TV or in the compartment next to it
(the antenna cable from teh MAIN tv will go to it.

Sadly.. Not always

on one Thor Class C I foudn it in a compartment Over the door (under the JACK antenna) Well towards the door from it) behind a wall wart that provided power to the next to useless SUR-LOCK device (The box with the knob, switch and led's)

Also some RV's have what we call a BOMB (Box of many buttons, Proper name Matrix switch) and if so, then that's the selector.

But with Cable. Make sure the switch is OFF on the wall plate, or CABLE selected for THAT TELEVISION on the BOMB.

now using the TV's menu select Set up,, then you need to find channel set up, and possibly "Antenna" type. Select Cable, then scan.

For OTA, if you have a signal strength meter (I use a Sensar PRO by the way, This one beats the LEDs off that sur-lock) Make sure it's on, Raise (if necessary) the antenna and turn to peak signal.

now on the TV select ANT(enna) and again scan

No signal meter, Well I can talk you through that too but please, ask.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 03:43 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvjack View Post
When we pull into an rv campground that has cable we can only get the first 12 or 13 channels. There has to be a switch somewhere to pick up the other channels.
Any help would be appreciated.
rvjack
You may not have a UHF/VHF switch.

If you turn the antenna booster OFF... and then do a "cable channel scan" on each TV set... you will most likely get every cable channel available on both TVs.
Woodchopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 10:03 PM   #7
Community Moderator
 
TonyDi's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Point Pleasant Beach, NJ
Posts: 25,070


Glad to have you here in the forum with us.

Happy Trails!!!
__________________
Tony & Ruth........... FMCA#F416727
2016 London Aire 4519, Freightliner chassis, Cummins ISX, 2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited, Blue Ox Avail with AF1. TST 507 TPMS
TonyDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 10:23 PM   #8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: indio california
Posts: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvjack View Post
Greetings, I am a new member and need help with a few things concerning my motorhome. I have a 2011 Tuscany 4051 and need to find the switch for the tv, UHF/VHF switch. I have looked through the owners manual and couldn't fine anything concerning the location of the switch. When we pull into an rv campground that has cable we can only get the first 12 or 13 channels. There has to be a switch somewhere to pick up the other channels. Also I would like to know where the drain is for the fresh water tank. Any help would be appreciated.
unless u set your tv to scan iam surprized you get even 12 channels

so as said set your TV through the set up menu to cable and down to scan and then scan all or automatic scan every tv is slightly different in wording

also make sure your roof antenna booster is OFF
select55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2017, 09:43 AM   #9
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 48,640
Hi ! Welcome to IRV2! We're sure glad you joined the gang!

Sounds to me like you are not doing the auto scan after connecting to the cable! That searches for the available channels on that cable system. Same for off-the-air signals.

Good luck, happy trails, and God bless!
__________________
Joe & Annette
Sometimes I sits and thinks, sometimes I just sits.....
2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
switch



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Antenna Booster Switch mmartin Travel Supreme Owner's Forum 1 12-01-2013 10:24 AM
Where is the booster Switch maxwell18 Monaco Owner's Forum 11 08-29-2013 08:03 PM
Have to use booster switch to start gen Why? doit2010 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 13 05-26-2012 08:04 PM
Booster Switch Wiring - 2008 Dolphin seumas National RV Owner's Forum 3 06-13-2010 08:24 PM
2004 Pace Arrow TV Antenna Booster Switch Kent & Peggy Fleetwood Owner's Forum 1 08-13-2009 09:17 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.