Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Just Conversation
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-07-2012, 05:09 AM   #1

Back in the day

Who knows who these guys are? The place was Augusta, Georgia and the year was mid-1964 for the top pic, and late ' 63 for the bottom pic...........

This is where I worked as a 12 year old kid; my brother and I used to "sweep the track" with push brooms. Get in free, AND all the hot dogs we could eat; it didn't get any better than this for a 12 year old boy ....unless you include the playtime and "dirt clod" fights with another 12 year old friend.....named Dale Earnhardt. His dad, Ralph raced here every Saturday..........."back in the day".

The top pic was taken at the "Georgia Cracker 300" on the 1/2 mile Oval; and the lower pic was made in late '63 on the 3 mile Road Course at the "Augusta 510". It was this driver's last victory shortly before his untimely death in a later racing accident.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AugustaOval-645x376.jpg
Views:	194
Size:	47.2 KB
ID:	21998   Click image for larger version

Name:	AugustaIR_AaugChronicleSept04_Nov17_63.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	43.8 KB
ID:	21999  

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!