Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Just Conversation
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-23-2022, 12:57 PM   #1

Why Astronomers hate Starlink

I thought I'd write an informational post to demonstrate why you read on the news that professional astronomers are against the launch of 30,000 Starlink satellites.

I'm an amateur astronomer and recently started dabbling in photographing faint objects in the night sky. On my second night out, I was doing some exposures that captured satellite trails running through the image. This serves as a good proxy for the problem professionals face. and I thought I'd demonstrate how satellite effect the gathering of astronomical data.

It's important to keep a few things in mind when looking at my examples.

1. These images were taken with modest equipment - a 4" telescope and a consumer digital camera. The telescopes used professionally are 1,000,000 times more sensitive to light.

2. My images consist of 30 - 30second exposures, combined to make a single images equaling a single 15 minute exposure. Professional images usually consist of many hours of imaging. Sometime for the real faint stuff, it's days or weeks of accumulated data.