Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-20-2018, 07:44 AM   #1

Feeling Defeated

Hello,
I am a teacher in Florida, wanted to use my time off as a time to travel with my kiddos. Twenty days ago we purchased an older RV and embraced tiny house living. Teachers don't make a lot in the way of income so I had to purchase older and remodel.

I went with a 1989 Coachmen Catalina. A 27ft Class C. The kids and I repainted the interior, learned to replace a few plumbing leaks and took her to the mechanics three times until the power steering issues was finally resolved. Everything seemed fine or at least fine enough. We went ahead and left Central Florida to travel to Northern Florida and this is what we experienced:

Generator stopped working, it has been glitchy in the few times we used it anyhow, just randomly stopping and sometimes a clinging noise. Now it wont even attempt anything. The breaker is in the one position and it has gas.

So as a result we traveled four hours with no AC. Broke the awning upon the first time using it so that's a waste.

Once we arrived at our destination, thankful we arrived, the rig would not start in order to level out.