Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 11-29-2020, 05:18 AM   #20161

RonJH +Lloyd (and everyone else good info.)
Sit down , this might be long winded.

As part of my quest to understand my world of sound reinforcement completely I studied many sound related subjects.
I'll try to translate some of it here .. bear with me , it's been a while..I may miss a detail here and there.

The human ear is a very complicated thing....
It works by using several different internal structures.

Sound waves effect the ear drum which is connected to bones that induce waves in "hydraulic fluid" that are detected by little hairs growing on this curved horn like structure , electrical signals to the brain from those little hairs, each tuned to a different frequency in that fluid and in turn they send electrical signals to your brain which are responsible for your perception of sound.

Here's the bad part (for me anyway, not sure about you guys yet)
When the sound gets too LOUD the hairs are damaged and your ears "ring" actually they don't (it's your brain ringing ) the effect is temporary and will go away as the hairs recover.

OK here we go.

If you get away from the sound !

If the sound stays too LOUD or you do it every day....(ME) ...
Eventually the hair relative to the freq (and possibly others too) that was dominant DIE !