Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-16-2018, 02:19 PM   #1

RV AC Issues

Hello again,
So many of you read my intro post and initial issues found with owning my 1989 Coachmen Class C. I am a teacher and wanted to embrace living minimally so I purchased this RV and my kids and I really have enjoyed our first month and a half, issues and all. However, it took all my summer pay to purchase and keep afloat. I lost some money due to learning curves and tricks of the trade. I am dangerously low on funds and as a result parked at a friends for a week or so to recover what I have lost as we adjust.

I did hook up to house power and I know this is not ideal but I can no longer afford RV parks or even state parks until I get paid again after the new school year starts. I did go out and purchase a 30 amp cord with 10 gauge and for the past two and a half days we have had no issues. The only thing running is the AC. Today we tripped the breaker so I let it rest a while. Since then, it has shut off twice but no breaker was tripped on the RV or the House. However, I have an onboard house battery charger and I wonder if when it tries to charge and kicks on to begin charging, if that in turn kicks the AC off. What do you guys think? The wires are not hot, the AC when on runs fine- as usual. I need thoughts considering my situation. Turning the entire thing off and staying inside the friends house is not the ideal situation but I know it is an option. I am more concerned with troubleshooting the RV.