Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-12-2015, 02:16 PM   #1

RV reno newbie with some questions...

Hi everyone...

I'm a newbie to RV renos, so I'm hoping for some help in getting started on the right foot.

We have a '79 35ft Terry travel trailer. It has an auxiliary roof on it and a full length addition along side it (the rear 1/2 is an enclosed room and the front 1/2 is a covered porch). It sits on our recreational property in WA State.

The addition is only a couple of years old and only after it was almost complete did we start to question the sanity of building something so costly alongside such an old RV. Oh well.. hindsight is 20/20, I guess.

Anyway, we’d like to renovate the interior of the trailer to #1. make it a bit more functional and #2. bring the interior into this millennium.

Step one will be to paint all of the walls and cabinetry. Before we get started, I have a few questions…

1. Is priming necessary or will a good-quality paint/primer combo do the trick?
2. Our cabinets have the doors that swing upward. There are hinges and struts as well. Is there some trick or tip to removing the doors and also to reinstalling them?

Thanks in advance.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1573.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	546.2 KB
ID:	103040  
Andrina72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!