Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 11-21-2021, 06:53 AM   #6427

Well....I didn't complete the work today, but in the last three months, I have done a lot of maintenance and upgrades. I am a very slow mechanic with limited skills and tools, but so far so good on all the following:

1. New water pump, alternator, hoses, belts (Holiday Rambler thought it would be a good idea to extend the dashboard 1/2 way over the doghouse to accommodate a T.V., so I had to pull the A/C condenser and radiator and go in from the front to do the water pump). Great fun.
2. Replaced the Morryde rubber springs on the tag axle
3. Repacked the wheel bearings on the tag axle (the bearings were originally oil bath but someone had apparently lost the oil and fried one side before--the spindle is a little rough, so I will be inspecting the bearings after 5.000 miles or so. Using an infrared thermometer, I am not showing any heat in the hub after 300 miles, so I feel pretty good about things at this point)