Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > REGIONAL CHAPTERS, CAMPOUTS & RALLIES > Northeast Region
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 05-15-2017, 10:07 PM   #1

Electrical Outlet Issues

I know nothing about electricity, so excuse the incorrect verbiage.

I have a Chinook Premier. Recently, when I have been using my outlets, it all shuts off suddenly. The breaker doesn't flip, just the GCFI outlet needs to be reset.

I am usually just using a sewing machine (same one I've been using in here for the last 9 months) plus charging a phone or computer with a few lights on. Nothing more.

The first time it happened, I was using the generator for power. I turned it off, then on, and pressed the reset on the gcfi and everything powered on for a few seconds and then off. I "fixed" the issue by replacing all the 15 amp fuses.

The second time it happened, a few weeks later, I was plugged in to 30 amp shore power. I was charging a handheld vacuum and a computer. I pulled all the fuses and replaced 2 random 15 amp fuses. Plugged in again, and it was working again. (I have no idea what I'm doing)

This time, I was running the generator to power a sewing machine and charge a laptop. I'd been using this power without any changes for over an hour and it shorted. I pulled all the fuses again and restarted the generator a few times, but it's not back on yet.

The only electricity that stops working is the outlets. Everything (to my knowledge) else still works.

Please help! But explain it in simple terms
Lek086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!