Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Pop Up, Tent Trailer and Teardrop Topics
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-28-2019, 08:48 AM   #1

12V DC Battery Keeps Blowing Fuses

Hi folks,

I recently bought a used 2004 Forest River, Flagstaff pop-up trailer.

I bought it private, and the gentleman I bought it from provided a fairly new 12V battery for the DC hookup. It worked when I left his place, but I've had trouble with it since.

I'm not a pro, and don't know a lot about electrical, but happy to research and learn.

I have a black wire and white wire that connect to the battery (no red wire). From what I've read online, black is negative and white should be positive. I also read that I should attach the black wire first, followed by white, and take white off first then black.

When I attach the black wire to the negative terminal on battery, I sometimes get some sparks, and that's when it keep blowing some of my 15amp fuses on the panel. Panel picture attached. Looking closer at what is in there now, the Lights and Accessories fuses have 10 amp fuses, although the legend says they're rated for 8 amp. Not sure if that's the problem; however, it's the 15 amp fuses that blow, not the 10's.

Any idea what I'm doing wrong?
Thanks!
Nick
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190728_084017919.jpg
Views:	117
Size:	263.0 KB
ID:	254968   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190728_083811958.jpg
Views:	138
Size:	223.9 KB
ID:	254969  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190728_083747584.jpg
Views:	91