Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2021, 10:06 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Abnmarine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 759
110V issues at campground

I’m baffled at why this is happening.

I’m connected to a new campground using their 30 amp site. My AC, microwave, electric HWH and GFI outlets work. All 12 volt systems also work.

I have six 110V outlets that are not on a GFI circuit that are not getting power. I’ve flipped the breakers multiple times and that hasn’t corrected it. One of these outlets is for the fridge and I’m currently only able to run it on propane.

My camper is a 2018 Thor Class C 22B model. Everything worked prior to the 80 mile drive when plugged in at the house.
Abnmarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-03-2021, 10:35 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Healeyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abnmarine View Post
Iím baffled at why this is happening. Everything worked prior to the 80 mile drive when plugged in at the house.
Drive to a different site (or 2) and try again. May be bad post power.

Tim
Healeyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2021, 10:36 PM   #3
D20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Florida
Posts: 538
Is there anything else on that breaker? Or is it only the 6 receptacles? If the entire circuit is dead, I would start by pulling the breaker and putting a meter on it to see if the breaker itself has failed.
__________________
2021 Newmar Bay Star 3626
D20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2021, 10:54 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Abnmarine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 759
Quote:
Originally Posted by Healeyman View Post
Drive to a different site (or 2) and try again. May be bad post power.

Tim
Iíll try that tomorrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by D20 View Post
Is there anything else on that breaker? Or is it only the 6 receptacles? If the entire circuit is dead, I would start by pulling the breaker and putting a meter on it to see if the breaker itself has failed.
Iím pretty sure they are all on the same 15 amp circuit. The whole circuit is dead. The outlets are for the front TV, outlet at table, fridge, rear TV and two bedroom outlets.

I checked the manual and my panel has the following breakers:

30 amp Main
20 amp AC
15 amp Microwave
15 amp GFI circuit
15 amp Non GFI circuit
15 amp Convertor
15 Amp HWH

Tomorrow I will shut off all power and unplug. Then check the breaker and pull each outlet to ensure that the wiring is connected.
__________________
2018 Thor Four Winds 22B
Abnmarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2021, 11:04 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Abnmarine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 759
I’m also going to unplug and run the generator to see if power is restored to those outlets. That should eliminate an issue at the campground post. Does this make sense?
__________________
2018 Thor Four Winds 22B
Abnmarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2021, 06:03 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 29,430
Running generator is worth a try, but very unlikely your problem.

30 amp power is a single leg supply and if anything in the RV is getting power, everything should be getting power.

You need to concentrate on the non GFCI breaker and beyond.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2021, 07:39 AM   #7
Community Administrator
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 12,392
The outlets you describe sound like they are on an inverter circuit. Check for push button circuit breakers on the inverter itself.
__________________
2017 Phaeton 40IH XSH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'16 Jeep JKU Wrangler Sahara or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2021, 08:22 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Abnmarine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 759
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lt Dan View Post
The outlets you describe sound like they are on an inverter circuit. Check for push button circuit breakers on the inverter itself.
Unfortunately I donít have an inverter in this coach. I wish I did.
__________________
2018 Thor Four Winds 22B
Abnmarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2021, 08:31 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,087
I wouldn’t be surprised if you have a second GFCI. It might be the type that is on the receptacle itself. Does your outside receptacle work?

Check each receptacle, and start in the bathroom.
radar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2021, 08:57 AM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 24,777
If you have any 110v power in the coach at all, then it is NOT the power pole. There is only one "hot" wire on a 30A connection, so you either have power to the coach or not. However, if your rig is wired for 50A rather than 30A, that single power source may be split into two feeds inside the coach (at the transfer switch).



Since you have some power inside, you need to start with the dead circuit and check power at its circuit breaker. If you have power at the breaker but not elsewhere, start checking for a broken or disconnected wire. If no power thru the breaker, re-seat the breaker. If that doesn't help, replace the breaker
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition and several other RVs
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2021, 09:49 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Old-Biscuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 19,668
Voltmeter....RVs friend

I take it you are using a 30A to 50A adapter ...correct?
Unplug your 50A RV Power Cord
Check that you have 120VAC on BOTH Hot Slots on 50A side of that adapter
NO for both HOTS......replace adapter
YES for both HOTS....then need to check the Next component in-line for 120VAC on both HOTS on outlets side......surge protector/auto transfer switch etc
NO for both HOTS....check wiring connections/replace as needed
YES for both HOTS....check RV Main Power Panel 50A CBs for 120VAC on both CB to buss bars
NO...replace 50A CBs
YES...then check the dead circuit CBs Load side (out to the outlets)

Process of elimination
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2021, 10:03 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Ljwt330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Capistrano Beach, California
Posts: 4,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abnmarine View Post
I’ll try that tomorrow



I’m pretty sure they are all on the same 15 amp circuit. The whole circuit is dead. The outlets are for the front TV, outlet at table, fridge, rear TV and two bedroom outlets.

I checked the manual and my panel has the following breakers:

30 amp Main
20 amp AC
15 amp Microwave
15 amp GFI circuit
15 amp Non GFI circuit
15 amp Convertor
15 Amp HWH


Tomorrow I will shut off all power and unplug. Then check the breaker and pull each outlet to ensure that the wiring is connected.

Here is the key, IMO, noted in bold.


You have a 30 amp coach so only one line from post is used as Gary stated. You have power to all 110v devices and outlets except for the 15 amp non-GFI circuit so power is getting to the main panel and being dispersed.

As others stated, start at the circuit breaker. Test, reset, replace if necessary. If CB is good, begin testing and pulling each outlet from the wall to inspect the wiring. All it takes is one wire to be disconnected in the daisy-chain, and all outlets downstream will lose power.

Your stated procedure is spot on.
__________________
Larry, Eileen, and Finley
2004 Alpine 36FDDS
Third motor home, first Alpine, no need for another.
Ljwt330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2021, 10:04 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 29,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old-Biscuit View Post
Voltmeter....RVs friend

I take it you are using a 30A to 50A adapter ...correct?
Unplug your 50A RV Power Cord
Check that you have 120VAC on BOTH Hot Slots on 50A side of that adapter
NO for both HOTS......replace adapter
YES for both HOTS....then need to check the Next component in-line for 120VAC on both HOTS on outlets side......surge protector/auto transfer switch etc
NO for both HOTS....check wiring connections/replace as needed
YES for both HOTS....check RV Main Power Panel 50A CBs for 120VAC on both CB to buss bars
NO...replace 50A CBs
YES...then check the dead circuit CBs Load side (out to the outlets)

Process of elimination
He has a 30 amp RV.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2021, 10:08 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 29,430
If the outlets are the RV sealed back type, the wire runs in and out without cutting the wire. One bad, in most cases, would not effect the others.

Are the outlets in a slide ? If yes, I'd be looking for a bad connection where it moves in and out.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
campground



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using a 4 foot LED fluorescent 110v replacement bulb on 12v or 12v-110v converter trackvw iRV2.com General Discussion 12 10-15-2019 12:57 AM
No 110V when plugged into 110V shore power Beacoal iRV2.com General Discussion 4 10-12-2018 08:18 PM
No 110v from shore .... Generator 110v OK Fred420 Monaco Owner's Forum 18 03-23-2012 06:39 PM
110V Electrical help needed wagonmaster2 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 12-03-2008 07:13 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.