Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2023, 10:06 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Feb 2023
Location: Poulsbo, WA
Posts: 11
20 amp service in the toolies

We will be spending a few days with family at their cabin and parking our 2004 Pace Arrow in their yard. All they have is 20 amp service. Does that present any issues to plug our RV in with a 3-plug extension cord?
SeabLobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-04-2023, 10:10 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
LeeB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Valley, California
Posts: 1,717
You will need a 30amp to 20amp adapter. Just be careful not to load to much on 20amp
__________________
2003 Itasca Suncruiser 33V
If you don't stand behind our TROOPS, Feel Free
to stand in front of them
LeeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2023, 10:12 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Old-Biscuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 25,568
Proper adapter(s) and yes you can plug into a 20A outlet
Is it a GFCI protected Outlet?
*Can have tripping issue

That will be enough power for maintaining/charging batteries and maybe ONE AC Item

Is your RV 50A or 30A?
Does it have an EMS (Energy Management System)?
Inverter?
Residential fridge or AC/Propane Fridge?
__________________
I took my Medication today. HAVE YOU?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2023, 10:14 PM   #4
Community Administrator
 
NLOVNIT's Avatar


 
Pond Piggies Club
LA Gulf Coast Campers
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Entegra Owners Club
Skyline Owners Group
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 39,304
Blog Entries: 1
You need a dogbone adapter to go from whatever your coach amperage plug is (30a, 50a?) to the 20a circuit receptacle. You will be limited to what you can have on when you are on the 20a circuit - especially if they have other things already plugged into that circuit.

I plug my 30a coach into my garage 20a circuit. I've got a small chest freezer, a garden fountain &, on occasion, a pedestal fan plugged into that same circuit. I don't turn on anything else in the coach while it's plugged into that circuit.

P.S. I removed the GFCI outlet from my garage circuit because I was having tripping issues. Don't ya'll get on me for that. I know a "wet location" is supposed to have a GFCI, but I'll take the responsibility.
__________________
Lori (& Dave, my spirit guide) - FMCA #F419886 | RV/MH Hall of Fame Lifetime Member
2016 Phoenix Cruiser 2350S & 2014 CRV EX-L AWD, My iRV2 Photo Albums
2018 Phaeton 40IH,2006 Bounder 36Z, 2004 Cougar 285EFS, 2000 Aerolite 25FBR
There is great need for a sarcasm font.
NLOVNIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2023, 07:35 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
153stars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Braidwood Il.
Posts: 8,201
You'll do best on a 30 amp RV extension cord to adapter . You might manage to run an AC but not much else. Run fridge and water heater on gas. Hopefully house batts will be fully charged when you get there .....high battery charge on inverter charger can hit 10 amps from 120v but will taper off after bulk charger is done. Some you can easily chose reduced charge rate.
__________________
95 Monaco Crown Royale
M11 400hp, 4060 trans.
Aquahot, Generac Guardian7.5k
153stars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2023, 07:50 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Feb 2023
Location: Poulsbo, WA
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old-Biscuit View Post
Proper adapter(s) and yes you can plug into a 20A outlet
Is it a GFCI protected Outlet?
*Can have tripping issue

That will be enough power for maintaining/charging batteries and maybe ONE AC Item

Is your RV 50A or 30A?
Does it have an EMS (Energy Management System)?
Inverter?
Residential fridge or AC/Propane Fridge?
My RV is 30A, has an inverter, and AC/propane fridge.
Thanks for the response
SeabLobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2023, 07:53 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
SeeTheUSA's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,442
Iíve found that running our rig on a 20 amp receptacle is better if, rather than a simple extension cord, I run a 30 amp rv-type cord as far as I can towards the receptacle. In our driveway, for example, I run out the rv 30 amp cord, add another 25 foot rv 30 amp cord and continue right up to the receptacle. A 30 amp to 20 amp adapter then is plugged right into the receptacle. Before, even with a heavy duty regular extension cord, Iíd often trip the breaker when running the A/C. Plus the voltage level into the motorhome is higher with the rv cords.

Hope this helps. Good luck, have fun.
__________________
Warren and Debbie, Deep in The Heart of Texas
2018 Winnebago View 24D
2014 Tiffin Breeze 32BR, 2012 Winnebago Navion 24G, 2006 Winnebago View 23H
SeeTheUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2023, 11:11 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Old-Biscuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 25,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeabLobo View Post
My RV is 30A, has an inverter, and AC/propane fridge.
Thanks for the response
Fridge & water heater on Propane vs AC
AC Elements ---fridge 3A/4A but water heater 11A

Battery charger.......5A-6A full charging

IF the 20A outlet if GFCI protected.....may have to Open the Individual Circuit Breakers for the Fridge AC and Water Heater AC
*They can cause GFCI circuits to trip
__________________
I took my Medication today. HAVE YOU?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2023, 11:39 AM   #9
Community Administrator
 
NLOVNIT's Avatar


 
Pond Piggies Club
LA Gulf Coast Campers
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Entegra Owners Club
Skyline Owners Group
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 39,304
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeTheUSA View Post
Iíve found that running our rig on a 20 amp receptacle is better if, rather than a simple extension cord, I run a 30 amp rv-type cord as far as I can towards the receptacle...
That's exactly what I do. I run my 30a RV cord all the way into the garage receptacle, then use a 30a to 15/20a adapter to plug into the receptacle. For some reason, I have to connect upside down so I have to support the weight of the cord/connector via a hook I installed up on a stud.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Connection.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	167.0 KB
ID:	394546  
__________________
Lori (& Dave, my spirit guide) - FMCA #F419886 | RV/MH Hall of Fame Lifetime Member
2016 Phoenix Cruiser 2350S & 2014 CRV EX-L AWD, My iRV2 Photo Albums
2018 Phaeton 40IH,2006 Bounder 36Z, 2004 Cougar 285EFS, 2000 Aerolite 25FBR
There is great need for a sarcasm font.
NLOVNIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2023, 05:41 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
153stars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Braidwood Il.
Posts: 8,201
Take about 5minutes to flip the outlet.
They look weird but ground up is getting to be standard install. Talk of safer if plug pulls down , the ground exposed instead of bare live prongs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by NLOVNIT View Post
That's exactly what I do. I run my 30a RV cord all the way into the garage receptacle, then use a 30a to 15/20a adapter to plug into the receptacle. For some reason, I have to connect upside down so I have to support the weight of the cord/connector via a hook I installed up on a stud.
__________________
95 Monaco Crown Royale
M11 400hp, 4060 trans.
Aquahot, Generac Guardian7.5k
153stars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2023, 05:57 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Tha_Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeabLobo View Post
My RV is 30A, has an inverter, and AC/propane fridge.
Thanks for the response


Since your unit is 30 amp going down to 20 not as bad.

Running inverter uses batteries which needs charging back and takes amps.

Only run 1 AC.
You will need a heavy duty extension cord, generally the plugs will get hot and start to melt if over rated so keep a eye on them.
__________________
2007 Fleetwood Revolution LE 40V
Tha_Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2023, 06:30 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Old-Biscuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 25,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by 153stars View Post
Take about 5minutes to flip the outlet.
They look weird but ground up is getting to be standard install. Talk of safer if plug pulls down , the ground exposed instead of bare live prongs.
NEC doesn't require an orientation...ground up, ground down

Some argue ground down is safer...when you go to pull plug out your index finger is around the bottom of plug and index sticks out further than thumb, Ground down keeps index away from live pins

Po'tay'toe ---Po'tah-to
__________________
I took my Medication today. HAVE YOU?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2023, 08:19 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Forza Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Posts: 178
When I take my Forza out of Storage for use, I bring it home a day or two before we go, plug into the front of the house, 20A, and just have the battery charger/inverter and Fridge on to allow for all batt's to come up and the fridge to get cold/ice in the freezer before we go. Never a problem! yes we use a 50A-20A dogbone, from Amazon.
__________________
2015 Winnebago Forza 34T
Cummins 340 HP
Fiat 500 Toad
Forza Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2023, 03:31 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Feb 2023
Location: Poulsbo, WA
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeB View Post
You will need a 30amp to 20amp adapter. Just be careful not to load to much on 20amp
Found a 30a to 20a dog bone. Worked like a champ. Thank you
SeabLobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
service



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"NORCOLD & DOMETIC RECALLS" & Service Manuals Norcold & Dometic "007" RV Systems & Appliances 89 07-18-2019 04:41 PM
Converting from 30 amp service to 50 amp service mr. seaview National RV Owner's Forum 8 07-18-2019 03:39 PM
February "Celebrity Classic" Meal Signups Madame Boomer Texas Boomers 29 02-06-2018 06:55 PM
50 Amp service, L1 & L2 amp draw wagonmaster2 RV Systems & Appliances 9 04-04-2016 08:55 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.