RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2017, 11:16 AM   #1
Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 48
30 amp vs 50 amp

I bought a used MH a few months ago with a 50 amp circuit. I also have basement air. Up until now I haven't had a problem getting a campsite with 50 amp hookups but recently I called a couple and 50 amp was not available, only 30 amp. What would my limitations be? If I put in a 30 amp outlet at my house would I be able to use the basement air to cool it down while loading and unloading? Living in Phoenix in the summer, AC is pretty much a necessity.
dennys67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-03-2017, 11:18 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 37,062
Difference is 3,600 watts on 30 amp and 12,000 watts on 50 amp RV service. Depending on how much your air con draws you may or may not have problems running it.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft, HWH Active Air
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 Jeep JKU Dragon Edition
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017, 11:23 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 21,180
As , Mr_D says , your going to need the amp draw info on your basement air unit to know for sure.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017, 11:34 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 24,652
Check the circuit breaker for the AC, It will, most likely, be 15 or 20 amps.

Unless it's more the 30 amps, ( unlikely ), you can run it on a 30 amp service.

Once you know the breaker size, you can figure out what else you can run on a 30 amp service.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017, 01:27 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Cousin Ed's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 1,425
If it's a Winnebago you shouldn't have any problems; your energy management system will take care of it. Just don't try hair dryers or toaster ovens while using both compressors on the AC.
__________________
Jeanie, Ed & Slade the GSD
Cape Cod, MA
2017 Entegra Aspire RBQ & Sierra Crew
Cousin Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017, 01:39 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
10Boomer's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,893
My two 15,000 btu a/c's run on 2 20amp each circuit. I stop at many camp grounds that only have 30 amp service, I run only the front ducted system, remember you maybe using other thing in coach.
If you have one system you might be ok, check your circuit.
__________________
Perry & Julie: 2008 Monaco Camelot 40PDQ, 400ISL, Toad; 2015 Chevy Equinox.
10Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017, 04:53 PM   #7
Community Moderator
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 6,767
I had a basement air in our Itasca and it would draw 12-13 amps per compressor (there are two) so we could run both on 30 amps, but nothing else. Your power management system will show the amperage draw when you are on 30 amp, but not on 50. As previously said, it will shed power as needed and one of the first things to shed is the water heater then the compressor #2 in the AC.
__________________
2017 Phaeton 40IH XSH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'16 Jeep JKU Wrangler Sahara or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017, 05:05 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Brighton, MI
Posts: 766
We were in Fl. February and March. South of Miami and no 50 amp available. It was warm down there this year in the 80's. 30 amps worked for us, we used the electric water heater and AC and anything else we needed. The EMS took care of things just fine. Actually we ran on just 1 compressor most of the time and it was all we needed. The start cap on the 2nd compressor fried and I shut off the breaker for it.
__________________
Hank & Lynda
2003 Winnebago Adventurer 35U, Workhorse W22
70ChevelleSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 07:17 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: reynoldsburg, ohio
Posts: 432
my roof top air/heat pumps draw about 16 amps each when both operating........if i am limited to 30 amp at the campground, limit air conditions to 1, put refrig and hot water on propane.............leaves plenty for satellite tv, phone chargers, and a fan to circulate air in the bus.....................
jsmmonaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 07:33 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
AFChap's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: ...hopefully on the road!
Posts: 5,057
OP is a member of the Winnebago forum so I will presume Winnebago coach. Winnebago basement ac is designed to run both compressors on 30a. #1 will pull apx 17a, & 2 will pull apx 7a more for a total of around 24. Don't try to run microwave, hair dryer, coffee maker etc too and you will be fine. The energy management system will normally cover for you if you forget your limitations, but I have popped the shore power breaker a time or two so try to manage it myself.
__________________
Paul (KE5LXU) ...was fulltimin', now parttimin'
2003 Winnebago Ultimate Advantage 40e
towing 2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
Blog at www.pjrider.com
AFChap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 07:41 AM   #11
Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 48
Wow, I'm always amazed at the wealth of info that you fine people are willing to share to the uninformed like me. Thanks all. I now have a place to start. So this leads to another question. I have a Coleman Mach basement air (2007 Itasca) and no manuels. It was mentioned that there are 2 compressors. How do I run on either 1 or 2 and how do I know how many are running? Is it automatic where 1 runs until the 2nd is needed? There is nothing on the thermostat that allows or enables any changes. Thanks again for the info.
dennys67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 08:22 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
AFChap's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: ...hopefully on the road!
Posts: 5,057
#2 will not come on unless #1 is already running. #2 is called for if the t-stat is calling for a set temp more than 3 degrees below the room temp. There is apx 2 min delay after #1 starts before #2 starts, and If you are outside you will hear the outside blower cut If for a few seconds as #2 starts up. If yours is a heat pump, in elec heat mode when the set temp is more than 3 degrees warmer than the room temp the lp furnace will be started in addition to the heat pump. In hot weather on 30a & want to run the microwave I will normally turn of the #2 compressor breaker until we are through w/ the microwave. The easy way to know if both are running is to watch the ems amp display when on 30a or generator power.
__________________
Paul (KE5LXU) ...was fulltimin', now parttimin'
2003 Winnebago Ultimate Advantage 40e
towing 2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
Blog at www.pjrider.com
AFChap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 10:50 PM   #13
Community Moderator
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 6,767
Quote:
Originally Posted by dennys67 View Post
I have a Coleman Mach basement air (2007 Itasca) and no manuels.
Here is the service manual and a wiring diagram for the basement air. We had the same unit in our '06 Itasca. Hope this will help.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf AirXCel 6535 Service Manual.pdf (935.4 KB, 24 views)
File Type: pdf AirXCel 6535 Wiring Diagram.pdf (228.8 KB, 17 views)
__________________
2017 Phaeton 40IH XSH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'16 Jeep JKU Wrangler Sahara or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2017, 04:05 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
DAN L's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,933
Dennys67,
You gotta make sure the campground voltage is adequate before and while running the basement ac.
Low voltage causes excessive heat in components.
__________________
01 WINNEBAGO 35U W20.8.1L SW Wa, Hi. Good Sam, SKP. AMSOIL fluids. BANKS ecm program. SCAN GAUGE II w/ Ally temp. 2 LIFELINE GPL-6CT AGM Batts on their sides. TST tptts. K&N panel air filter. AERO mufflers. TAYLOR plug wires. ULTRA POWER track bar. KONI fsd shocks, toad '18 MB CLA FWD on dolly
DAN L is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"NORCOLD & DOMETIC RECALLS" & Service Manuals Norcold & Dometic "007" RV Systems & Appliances 89 07-18-2019 05:41 PM
Generator Maintenance & MANUALS Onan & Generac & PARTS "007" RV Systems & Appliances 34 07-06-2019 03:09 AM
2011 RV chassis Mods & parts & Tech info new & old chassis "007" Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 4 09-27-2011 08:26 AM
My experience, RVing full & part time & weekends, w/costs & other problems DougCP iRV2.com General Discussion 2 07-11-2011 09:30 AM
50 amp to 30 amp to 20 amp?? fansill MH-General Discussions & Problems 5 05-15-2011 02:36 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.