Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-14-2011, 11:35 AM   #1

Nor'easters Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
50 amp to 30 amp to 20 amp??

Good Afternoon All,

While we are camping once again at a campground that has 50 amp service, I got to wondering about...

I am a 50 amp coach with the big ungainly 50 amp cord. I know that when I am camping at a campground with 50 amp service...easy-peasy...just plug in with the standard 50 amp plug.

I have a converter plug also to plug in my 50 amp cord to my house service that transforms the large plug to a more manageable household plug.

I have a "pigtail" that steps down the 50 amp plug to a 30 amp plug.

My questions are:

1.Are there different plug heads for 50 amp, 30 amp, and 20 amp?

2.Do I always need to step down the cord even at my house? Or can I just use the converter plug?

3.When I am at a site that only has twenty amp service, do I use the pigtail (50 to 30) then another pigtail/plug to go from 30 to 20?

4. Can I use my existing portable 50 amp surge protector when I am using 30 or 20 amp service? And where do I position the surge protector?

5. Finally, I know that with 20 or 30 amp service, I am limited to what I can run...like only running one AC at a time, etc... but is there any other cautions that I should be made aware of?

Thanks,

Faith
fansill is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!