Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2019, 02:21 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: broken arrow ok
Posts: 95
Adding 30 amp hookup to our house

Not sure I have the correct forum, but - The wife and I will be having some major remodeling done to our house in the next several months. I currently keep our rv in storage, but we will probably be displaced from our house for several weeks while work is being done. We don't want to leave during renovation, as we want to monitor everything closely. My question is, I want to install a hookup at home, and the closest I can park to one is about 75 feet. Is there a problem with tying 2 lines together to reach the 75 feet, or purchasing a 75 foot line instead? Not sure about power loss over that length.

Any thoughts?
98winnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-25-2019, 02:28 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
richard5933's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 2,323
Biggest reason for voltage drop is using undersized wiring. It might be easier to have the contractor run the long line from the service panel in the house to a pedestal near where you can park, and then plug into the pedestal like normal.

Be sure that they know what they are installing. If you are doing 30 amp they must install 120v circuit, not 240v.
__________________
Richard
1994 Excella 25-ft (Gertie)
1999 Suburban LS 2500 w/7.4L V8
1974 GMC 4108a - Custom Coach Land Cruiser
richard5933 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 02:32 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 4,054
Are you talking about putting the RV connection 75 feet away from the house, or putting it at the house and using 75 of shore power cord (or extension) to connect to it?

If you have heavy enough shore power cord, 75 isn't unreasonable. But you can't cheap out on the cords.
__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 02:36 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 18,272
Need to have a 30A RV outlet installed ---120VAC One HOT, One NEUTRAL, one GROUND fed from a 30A Circuit Breaker

Then 100' of extension cords with at minimum 10 GAUGE wire


Now would be time to just install a power pedestall at location for on-site RV parking
30A circuit breaker.....THREE 10 GAUGE wires (Hot, Neutral, Ground) and a pedestall with 30A Outlet

Could even upgrade to 50A for future needs
Double pole 50A CBs, FOUR 6 GAUGE wire (2 Hots, 1 neutral, 1 ground)
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 02:40 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Pmiller1's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Vintage RV Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 122
X2 on 10 gauge ext cord will work should run everything ok just when running ac might get close to max with microwave or 110 waterheater ..
__________________
1995 Monaco Dynasty 32' b5.9 md3060
Pmiller1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 02:43 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
KanzKran's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 1,786
10-gauge copper, at about 1.25 ohms/1000 ft, will drop about 5.5 volts over 150 ft (75 out and 75 back) when carrying 30A. If your voltage at rest is relatively high, say 120V, that's just a little under 115V under load. No problem. And that assumes you're actually pulling 30A through that circuit, which you almost certainly will not be this time of year unless you're using electric heat.

If your voltage is normally low, then losing too much in a long cord is more of an issue, but again, that depends on how much current you would normally draw. And, I should add, what loads you are actually driving. Motors and converters/chargers don't like low voltage (increases current draw since the connected load remains constant), but resistance heaters and incandescent lights and ovens and such don't care as they just put out less heat or light.

If the question is two 50 ft cords vs a single 100 ft, aside from the additional connection in the middle, which will present its own additional resistance, there isn't much downside. And you could always sell off the extension cord to another RV'r on this forum (or wherever) when you're done with it.
__________________
Tom & Jeri
2018 Coachmen Galleria 24T Li3
KanzKran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 02:44 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Itchytoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1,211
You should be fine using an RV 30 amp extension cord to make the 75 foot run. That long of a run certainly isn't ideal, but you're also extremely unlikely to actually be trying to pull 30 amps through it. You're probably only going to be pulling about 15 to 20 amps through it. Just don't try to microwave leftovers while making toast when your wife is blow drying her hair and has a space heater warming the bathroom. That's definitely going trip some breakers. As they say, a little common sense goes a long way.
__________________
2014 F350 DRW 6.7L CC FX4 King Ranch Ruby Red Metallic 158,000 Miles 4,450 Hours
2018 Cherokee Grey Wolf 29TE | Because I'm home, no matter where I am.
2018 Honda CB650F | Because the truck leans the wrong way when I turn.
Itchytoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 02:49 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: broken arrow ok
Posts: 95
Because our lot is really small and in a neighborhood, I don't have the space for permanent rv storage. Hence the reason for the long cord. I would be parking in the street in front of the house, for a few days at a time (so the cops don't ticket me). I saw a 75 ft. cord online for about $150, which made me think of this in the first place. I suppose we could find a campground close by but why spend the money if I don't have to. A permanent connection makes sense as I bring the rv home regularly for maintenance anyway. don't know the installation cost yet, but I'm guessing it's not that much.
I do also have a 50 amp connection attached to the generator wiring, so could install 50 amp at the house instead.
98winnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 03:16 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 18,272
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98winnie View Post
Because our lot is really small and in a neighborhood, I don't have the space for permanent rv storage. Hence the reason for the long cord. I would be parking in the street in front of the house, for a few days at a time (so the cops don't ticket me). I saw a 75 ft. cord online for about $150, which made me think of this in the first place. I suppose we could find a campground close by but why spend the money if I don't have to. A permanent connection makes sense as I bring the rv home regularly for maintenance anyway. don't know the installation cost yet, but I'm guessing it's not that much.
I do also have a 50 amp connection attached to the generator wiring, so could install 50 amp at the house instead.

Just make sure that 75' gives you needed slack so plugson the cord are not stressed
Also check that the $150 30A cord is 10 gauge at minimum.


As for that generator .....need a transfer switch so whenever gen is connected/supplying power the Utility company power is disconnected.
NO BACKFEEDING OF POWER into Power Grid!
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 03:32 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: broken arrow ok
Posts: 95
I do have a transfer switch at the generator, either 50 amp or generator, just flip a lever. I will look more closely at the different cords and see what is most recommended.
We have plenty of time before it's needed.
Thanks for the replies.
98winnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 03:44 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 18,272
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98winnie View Post
I do have a transfer switch at the generator, either 50 amp or generator, just flip a lever. I will look more closely at the different cords and see what is most recommended.
We have plenty of time before it's needed.
Thanks for the replies.

I misunderstood your use of Generator.
Thought you meant supply AC power to house.....


Transfer switch in RV is for same reason you would need one if powering house AC.
So only one source is connected/powered......no backfeeding power into the 'other' source.
Gen fro power house..need HOUSE transfer switch to prevent sending power out into Utility Grid
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 03:57 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: broken arrow ok
Posts: 95
would it be best to have a dedicated electrical box installed at the house for the rv? I have extra slots on my existing box, but am NOT an electrician so don't know what's best.
I should have had this done last year when I had an electrician install all new wiring for my pool.........
98winnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 04:06 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 28,558
If you have one empty slot you can install a 30 amp line to a RV 30 amp outlet.

If you have a double slot available, you can install a double 50 amp breaker, and run 50 amp 240 volt service to an outlet.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 04:10 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 18,272
Existing open slots in Hosue Power Panel can be used.
Add a 30A CB (or Two 50A if possible) then need to pull new wire from House panel to location where NEW RV outlet would be installed....external Electrical Outlet


30A





50A





__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding washer & dryer to our Cardinal? carolanded RV Systems & Appliances 3 08-13-2018 03:59 AM
50 amp coach to 30 amp extension to 50 amp house? abarkl RV Systems & Appliances 10 01-02-2015 08:55 PM
House Battery Hookup dlevell Class A Motorhome Discussions 2 04-09-2014 08:33 AM
rv hookup to house flukey81 iRV2.com General Discussion 23 10-10-2011 09:50 PM
50 amp hookup in the house MyLife Thor Industries Owner's Forum 12 09-17-2007 08:14 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.