Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2018, 11:54 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 24
Atwood Furnace

Hello Folks, You help Please...

My Atwood Furnace don't hold the flame, start normal but the burner just works for a few seconds. I chaged the main board and the limit switch and the problem continue. Any ideas? See the pictures.
ThanksAttachment 216044Attachment 216043Video_20180822_110731.mp4
J.Moura is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-22-2018, 12:22 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Old-Biscuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 21,147
Limit switch is Normally Closed........allows DC to go to Circuit Board (part of Sail Switch DC circuit---BOTH have to be CLosed for DC to Circuit Bd)


Have DC at Circuit Bd cause you get Ignition SPARK and FLAME Lights.....but flame drops out.
Typically that is due to SPARK ELECTRODE issue
Bad electrode, electrode out of position (must be engulfed by flame), bad high voltage wire connection to electrode


Could also be a obstructed/blocked exhaust, LOW LP System Pressure (11" WC measured with manometer & at least 50% of propane items in service), connections on circuit bd




WHAT MODEL?
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2018, 12:22 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 19,927
You didn't say what model of Atwood furnace you have, so detailed info is hard to give. The ignitor is also the flame sensor. The wires leading to the gap that the spark jumps across must be directly in the flame. You might have a mud dabber nest or spider webs in the air mixing chamber diverting the air flow. Also, the wires must be clean, you might wipe them down gently with a paper towel. You could also unplug, spray contact cleaner, and reattach the wiring to the ignitor. The fact that the flame ignites then goes out points to a failure to detect the flame, but it could be a problem with the new control board.

Use Google to search for a service manual for your Atwood model online. It includes a troubleshooting guide and can give further help.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2018, 04:53 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by old-biscuit View Post
limit switch is normally closed........allows dc to go to circuit board (part of sail switch dc circuit---both have to be closed for dc to circuit bd)


have dc at circuit bd cause you get ignition spark and flame lights.....but flame drops out.
Typically that is due to spark electrode issue
bad electrode, electrode out of position (must be engulfed by flame), bad high voltage wire connection to electrode


could also be a obstructed/blocked exhaust, low lp system pressure (11" wc measured with manometer & at least 50% of propane items in service), connections on circuit bd




what model?
afm d20 141
J.Moura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2018, 05:02 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by BFlinn181 View Post
You didn't say what model of Atwood furnace you have, so detailed info is hard to give. The ignitor is also the flame sensor. The wires leading to the gap that the spark jumps across must be directly in the flame. You might have a mud dabber nest or spider webs in the air mixing chamber diverting the air flow. Also, the wires must be clean, you might wipe them down gently with a paper towel. You could also unplug, spray contact cleaner, and reattach the wiring to the ignitor. The fact that the flame ignites then goes out points to a failure to detect the flame, but it could be a problem with the new control board.

Use Google to search for a service manual for your Atwood model online. It includes a troubleshooting guide and can give further help.
Thanks!
J.Moura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2018, 05:32 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Old-Biscuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 21,147
Quote:
Originally Posted by J.Moura View Post
afm d20 141

That is NOT a MODEL number


Atwood 8525 VI or 7912-II
Something like those
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2018, 05:36 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old-Biscuit View Post
That is NOT a MODEL number


Atwood 8525 VI or 7912-II
Something like those
I read from this stickClick image for larger version

Name:	20180822_103019.jpeg
Views:	53
Size:	44.7 KB
ID:	216064
J.Moura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2018, 06:01 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Old-Biscuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 21,147
OK.........I forgot about those

That IS the model number.
Atwoods NEW designed furnace ( AFMF20141A ,AFMD3011a,AFMD20111A)


And the common issue with those new improved...
WATER Intrusion...rain/rv washing
Circuit boards do not play well with WET
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2018, 06:23 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 116
I have an older Atwood water heater and use it mostly on propane. Did some research online and found an article that says to light a burner on the stove and let it burn until the flame is mostly blue. Then try to get the water heater pilot lit. It worked for me.
__________________
2006 Fleetwood Discovery 39V
2012 Honda CR-V AWD
AG Corps, USA Retired (1982-2002)
swoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2018, 06:48 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 19,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by swoop View Post
I have an older Atwood water heater and use it mostly on propane. Did some research online and found an article that says to light a burner on the stove and let it burn until the flame is mostly blue. Then try to get the water heater pilot lit. It worked for me.
That's a strategy to bleed any air out of the LP lines if the regulator at the tank has been removed. Not the same as the OPs issue.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ace, atwood, furnace



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace old Atwood Water Heater With New Atwood Water Heater GlennLever RV Systems & Appliances 2 07-14-2015 10:41 AM
Atwood furnace Max Hubrich RV Systems & Appliances 1 02-14-2009 12:48 AM
Atwood furnace H. Dossett Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 03-13-2007 10:32 PM
Atwood Furnace Blows Cold Air chasfm11 MH-General Discussions & Problems 12 12-15-2005 06:51 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.