Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2017, 01:27 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
530ktm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: High up in Arizona
Posts: 2,014
Cable Not Working on Main TV

Had this problem last year but since we do not watch much tv I left it alone. Now we are living in this coach for a few months and the main tv will not receive cable channels even when the Winegard is selected properly. I got the bedroom tv to scan and receive channels but nothing for the front main. I got a different cable and hooked directly from tv to the cable coming into the box and now it works perfectly. It appears somewhere the cable is broken or malfunctioning between each other and it would be very difficult to try and find where this is happening. So I have just run new cable and done some hiding in areas and left some slack for the slide when coming in and out for now. I am not sure this ever worked properly but it sure is strange that a cable just does not work. Anyone have this happen before or have any input?
__________________
2019 Allegro Bus 37AP towing a Jeep JK Rubicon Wrangler
530ktm is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-24-2017, 03:52 PM   #2
Member
 
MGrawe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 93
Check if you have a power antenna, there should be a small push button next to the cable jack. If there is, push the button to shut of the antenna as it will cause interference with the cable line. Hope this helps.

2015 Jayco Pinnacle FLSA & 2008 Chevy Duramax

Anxiously awaiting retirement where I have been told everyday is a Saturday
MGrawe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 05:17 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
sikoriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 128
Do you have a antenna boost that is on? All connections tight?
sikoriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 05:22 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: indio california
Posts: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by MGrawe View Post
Check if you have a power antenna, there should be a small push button next to the cable jack. If there is, push the button to shut of the antenna as it will cause interference with the cable line. Hope this helps.

2015 Jayco Pinnacle FLSA & 2008 Chevy Duramax

Anxiously awaiting retirement where I have been told everyday is a Saturday
reread OP post he clearly said his rear TV get a good picture and all channels
select55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 05:27 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: indio california
Posts: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by 530ktm View Post
Had this problem last year but since we do not watch much tv I left it alone. Now we are living in this coach for a few months and the main tv will not receive cable channels even when the Winegard is selected properly. I got the bedroom tv to scan and receive channels but nothing for the front main. I got a different cable and hooked directly from tv to the cable coming into the box and now it works perfectly. It appears somewhere the cable is broken or malfunctioning between each other and it would be very difficult to try and find where this is happening. So I have just run new cable and done some hiding in areas and left some slack for the slide when coming in and out for now. I am not sure this ever worked properly but it sure is strange that a cable just does not work. Anyone have this happen before or have any input?
IF your going through a multi switch wineguard cable Tv-OTA- VCR-sat Tv multi switch system take the ""Cable in"" off and hook it directly to the cable on the cable out connection that goes to your tv and I bet it works
seen these multi switch systems fail many times
select55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 05:39 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
530ktm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: High up in Arizona
Posts: 2,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by select55 View Post
IF your going through a multi switch wineguard cable Tv-OTA- VCR-sat Tv multi switch system take the ""Cable in"" off and hook it directly to the cable on the cable out connection that goes to your tv and I bet it works
seen these multi switch systems fail many times
That is exactly what I have done and it does work. So you are saying it could possibly be the stupid switch system? This switch system seems to work for the other tv's but not the main one in the front. I wonder if there is a better switching system to try out?
__________________
2019 Allegro Bus 37AP towing a Jeep JK Rubicon Wrangler
530ktm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 05:50 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: indio california
Posts: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by 530ktm View Post
That is exactly what I have done and it does work. So you are saying it could possibly be the stupid switch system? This switch system seems to work for the other tv's but not the main one in the front. I wonder if there is a better switching system to try out?
if you have a need for the OTA and cable and both TV systems then best buy a new wineguard multi switch box same as you have
select55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2017, 01:38 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
sikoriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by select55 View Post
reread OP post he clearly said his rear TV get a good picture and all channels
But he also stated that: Had this problem last year but since we do not watch much tv I left it alone.. Should have brought this to the dealers attention. maybe would have been covered under warranty.
sikoriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2017, 05:39 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
530ktm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: High up in Arizona
Posts: 2,014
sikoriko, it was out of warranty last year, not a big deal. Anyway, I connected the factory cable directly to the incoming cable eliminating the box thinking perhaps it is the box but it still does not work. Again I hooked up a new cable from tv to the incoming cable bypassing the box and it works fine. I put in a splitter and connected the box again so the other tv sets are connected and the other 2 sets work fine. Somewhere the factory installed cable to the main tv is broken and not working so I guess I will just work with the after market cable I just installed. Thanks for the replies.
__________________
2019 Allegro Bus 37AP towing a Jeep JK Rubicon Wrangler
530ktm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main TV, no Cable/Antenna input OC Bill Newmar Owner's Forum 11 06-17-2014 02:38 PM
Main & Aux Disconnect not working Brez Class A Motorhome Discussions 3 04-10-2013 07:13 PM
Main and aux disconnect switches not working Molezzo Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 3 08-03-2012 09:15 AM
Park Cable not working Don and Reyne Monaco Owner's Forum 9 09-30-2009 10:06 AM
HWH Jacks working, not working and working again? Bob&Pat Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 06-08-2006 05:22 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.