Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-20-2016, 11:58 AM   #1

Fleetwood Bounder only starts with aux battery

I am new to the RV world and have been enjoying a few trips over the summer. I have 1993 Fleetwood Bounder 28T on a P30 chassis that is in really good condition. On a recent trip when I turned the key on to start the RV I got nothing. Not even a click.

Here are the things that I checked:
- Checked the starting battery voltage was at 12.6 volts
- Checked all battery cables, all seemed tight and clean
- Checked to make sure that I turned on the battery switch by the door for both Aux. and starting battery
- Checked to make sure that the transmission was in "Park"

Then I remembered that there is the button far left of driver side on dash to aid in starting if battery is dead. Pushed it and turned the key and it started right up. When I got home from trip which was a few hours away I removed the battery put it on the charger over night, then took to have tested. All checked a good under load. Went back to RV and installed battery. Made sure that all cables and connections were clean and tight. Still no go with it even turning on radio, light, dash lights...anything. Push the button on left again and turn the key fires right up.