Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-04-2007, 04:34 PM   #1

I purchased a used 2004 Fleetwood Southwind so I'm afraid I don't have some of the manuals available and I'm a little new to the RV experience. Here's my dilemma: My RV has been in storage for a couple of weeks and I didn't bother to use the battery disconnects for the coach main and aux batteries. I tried to start the RV in preparation for a weekend trip (starting tomorrow!) and the engine won't start. Lights on the dash come on but I get a clicking sound and a beep from the back of the coach, where the fuse box is (I think). I've tried disconnecting the coach main and aux batteries and trying to start the engine but no luck. It doesn't appear to be the RV battery because driving lights come on and the radio works fine. I even tried jump starting the RV and that didn't seem to work either.

Now, when I test the main battery level, it reads 14-16 (units?) but I get no reading at all for the aux level. So I'm thinking the aux battery is dead. But would this keep me from starting the engine? Also, none of the lights in the coach appear to work but the LP gas detector light is on.

I'm hoping the problem is that I'm forgetting to do something prior to starting the engine; like forgetting to set the parking brake won't allow you to open a slide. Any ideas as to what may be the problem is greatly appreciated.

Tracy