Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-25-2022, 11:32 AM   #1

ONAN Generator

I have a Cummins Onan 2500 Watt Microquiet LP Generator in my 2019 Winnebago ERA. I am having trouble keeping my house batteries charged. Not even enough juice in the batteries to start the Generator.

I am going to replace the house batteries.

Does the Onan generator have its own battery that I need to replace? Or will replacing the house batteries be enough to reliably start my Onan generator?

Thanks. (I am new to this RV world.)
bdh831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-25-2022, 03:15 PM   #2

House batteries usually start the genset - it depends on how the coach manufacturer wired it.

Replace your batteries with AGM’s.