Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2020, 03:57 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 13
Powering your sticks and bricks off of your 7500 W Onan generator

Iíd like to know if anybody has ever powered their sticks and bricks when thereís a power outage off your generator on your motorhome
99aces is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-29-2020, 04:00 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
KanzKran's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 1,787
Might want to check out this thread, which is still running.

https://www.irv2.com/forums/f258/rv-...se-493716.html
__________________
Tom & Jeri
2018 Coachmen Galleria 24T Li3
KanzKran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 04:03 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 24,593
You could , power individual 120 volt appliances, on extension cords , but to hook to the whole house requires special switches/ circuit breakers/ to avoid powering the neighborhood. $$$
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 04:09 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Parris Island, SC
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skip426 View Post
You could , power individual 120 volt appliances, on extension cords , but to hook to the whole house requires special switches/ circuit breakers/ to avoid powering the neighborhood. $$$
Used to do that after hurricanes, can be done, keep the freezer and fridge working.
Fast E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 04:18 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Isaac-1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: SW Louisiana
Posts: 6,539
No, but I do own a 7,500 watt diesel standby generator for prolonged hurricane power outages, etc. At only 7,500 watts I have chosen to not wire up a transfer switch, instead in case of a major outage I use extension cords and a worksite style power distribution box to provide power to essential loads.
__________________
2002 Safari Trek 2830 on P32 Chassis with 8.1L w/ 400 watts solar
2017 Jeep Cherokee Overland & 2007 Toyota Yaris TOADs with Even Brake,
Demco Commander tow bar and Blue Ox / Roadmaster base plates
Isaac-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 04:47 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
DGBPokes's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2010
Location: McAlester Ok
Posts: 2,009
I am not an electrician! I have had neighbors after lose of power during a couple of ice storm, selectively power their house from an auxiliary generator.
1. Big thing : Pop the electric meter out of its base. This insure no feedback down the line. Which can kill a lineman.
2. With a three prong cord, plug the generator into your dryer outlet. This will power the house.
3. Manage the amp load on the generator by selecting which house breaker circuits are on.
__________________
2007 Newmar KSDP. 3912
2010 Nissan Frontier SE
DGBPokes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 05:44 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by DGBPokes View Post
I am not an electrician! I have had neighbors after lose of power during a couple of ice storm, selectively power their house from an auxiliary generator.
1. Big thing : Pop the electric meter out of its base. This insure no feedback down the line. Which can kill a lineman.
2. With a three prong cord, plug the generator into your dryer outlet. This will power the house.
3. Manage the amp load on the generator by selecting which house breaker circuits are on.


Thanks for the info my dryer plug is a 110 plug what Iím thinking is putting a 50 amp stove plug right off the generator and using a double male stove plug to plug into an outside plug 50 amp that I have installed turning off the main breaker to the house so I donít electrocute any electricians or lineman that might be working on the lines iím always thinking safety first I just donít want to spend $10,000 on a propane generator that automatically hooks up the house when I have this $80,000 motorhome sitting in the yard with a generator on board that should work perfectly fine?
99aces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 05:51 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 2,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by DGBPokes View Post
I am not an electrician! I have had neighbors after lose of power during a couple of ice storm, selectively power their house from an auxiliary generator.
1. Big thing : Pop the electric meter out of its base. This insure no feedback down the line. Which can kill a lineman.
2. With a three prong cord, plug the generator into your dryer outlet. This will power the house.
3. Manage the amp load on the generator by selecting which house breaker circuits are on.
Do you see that little anti-tamper tag on the meter? Do you know what the penaltys are for tampering with electric meters?

There's a reason for main input breakers in your breaker box.
aether_one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 06:38 PM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 24,518
Be aware that the Onan7500 does not produce 240v split phase, so you can't simply route power to the house load center and run the entire house. 240v appliances won't operate, e.g. most electric dryers and water heaters, cooktops & ovens, etc. The Onan7500 and 8000 produce two 120v circuits that are the sane phase (same sine wave).


We've used the 7500 multiple times to power fridge and lighting in the house, simply by running extension cords to the desired appliances, table lamps, etc.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition and several other RVs
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 06:54 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 15,223
Onan 7500 is not split phase so no 240 appliance support.

Options.

Generator inlet with backed breaker. Feed both legs, but realize no 240v appliance operation.

Transfer switch with selected circuits powered.
Your friend has shared a link to a Home Depot product they think you would be interested in seeing:

Reliance Controls30 Amp 250-Volt 7500-Watt Non-Fuse 6-Circuit Transfer Switch Kit
https://www.homedepot.com/p/Reliance...6HDK/202213700
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 07:12 PM   #11
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Blairsville, GA & WPB, FL
Posts: 3,993
Send a message via ICQ to Ivylog
Yes I have BUT my Onan 10K generator is a 120/240V generator unlike a 7500 that only puts out 120V.

OP, I see you didn’t read the posts in the link provided in post #2 ^^^^. A Onan 7500/8000 does NOT put out 240V. Its a DC generator with an inverter to convert to 120V AC. Your best option is to run extension cords from the RV to the 120V appliances you want to power. A often overlooked outlet on a diesel MH is the block heater outlet by the engine.
Ivylog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 08:56 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
winniman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Muskoka Ontario Canada
Posts: 3,130
Sound advice above. He hasnt said but I know he wants to run his deep well pump, which is 220 volts. If the genny doesnt produce 220, that eliminates the main reason for wanting to run it off the rv.
__________________
2000 coachmen santara 370 5.9 cummins isb
winniman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 09:21 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 23,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by DGBPokes View Post
I am not an electrician! I have had neighbors after lose of power during a couple of ice storm, selectively power their house from an auxiliary generator.
1. Big thing : Pop the electric meter out of its base. This insure no feedback down the line. Which can kill a lineman.
2. With a three prong cord, plug the generator into your dryer outlet. This will power the house.
3. Manage the amp load on the generator by selecting which house breaker circuits are on.
I agree, you are not an electrician, your #1 and #2 suggestions will not work.
Without expensive modifications you cannot get more than 15A circuits from that genset.
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA IN 1SG 11B5MX,Infantry retired;Good Sam Life member,FMCA." My fellow Americans, ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country. John F. Kennedy
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 10:52 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
jcussen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 2,813
Down here in South Texas hurricane country, when we get an outage, I run power cords from the coach to fridge, freezer and one bedroom window unit.
Can't run the whole house AC, but can at least sleep in comfort. Do keep two 20 lb propane bottles to run the BBQ for cooking. During Hurricane Ike, my gen supplied ac power for three weeks.
__________________
Foretravel tag axle 40 ft. 500 hp/1550 ft/lbs ism 1455 watts on the roof. 600 a/h's lithium down below.
jcussen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, onan, power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transitioning into the future - Sticks and Bricks and RV Garage, Possible Combo? Busskipper Class A Motorhome Discussions 220 05-12-2020 11:22 AM
Back feeding power to sticks and bricks from generator charlie2 Class A Motorhome Discussions 85 11-06-2014 07:19 AM
Only for the Sticks and Bricks! (today anyhow) Wayne M Just Conversation 2 01-15-2013 02:22 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.