Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2021, 07:54 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Thousand Oaks CA
Posts: 88
Upgrade from 30A to 50A service

Hi All - we have a 2005 class A with a 30A service. I would like to change to a 50A service. I would like to think the job would be as 'simple' as changing the power cord and installing a 50A main breaker. Maybe change the transfer switch. I know that it can't be.
I would like to hear from folks that have done this. It would be nice to hear of some of the pitfalls before I begin tearing things apart.

Thanks.

Les
T.O. CA
Mirada2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-06-2021, 08:12 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Corc's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Huntsville, AL.
Posts: 171
50A is 240V, you are indeed going to need a significant rewire including likely new transfer switch and maybe new 240V breaker panel. Depends on how your breaker panel looks and is wired.

Once you split the 240V into 120V lines itís all fairly straight and same wiring as what you have now.
__________________
Huntsville, Alabama
2018 Thor Palazzo 33.2
2009 Jeep Liberty
Corc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2021, 08:12 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 16,927
New 50A Power Cord
New 50A Receptacle to plug new cord into
New 50A Transfer Switch
New 50A AC Panel

FOUR 6 gauge wiring from receptacle to transfer switch to main panel
L1..HOT
L2..HOT
Neutral
Ground

And the ability/access to pull all that new wire

30A only has 3 wires and most likely 10 gauge
Hot/Neutral/Ground
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2021, 08:16 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Bill 3rd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 249
You would be safer, hiring an rv repairman.
Bill 3rd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2021, 08:17 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Washington
Posts: 997
You have gotten good advice so far.

We might be able to help with alternate ideas if you tell us what your goal in moving to 50 amp is. What is not being powered now that you want to power?

I have a 50 amp RV and I rarely pull the 50 amp cord because it is big and heavy. I am rarely in a situation when I need that much power. I pull my 30 amp cord most of the time. Then again we also mostly boondock.....I know we all travel differently.
__________________
2014 Volvo 630 Tandem 2016 Chevy 3500 DRW, crew cab
2016 Fuzion 325T
675ah AGM, MSH 3012 inverter, 960w Solar
Nwcid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2021, 08:34 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 744
Why do you want to do this? There might be a lot easier solution.
Argosy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2021, 08:48 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill 3rd View Post
You would be safer, hiring an rv repairman.
Some people arenít afraid to tackle a job and gain some knowledge along the way. That way when something goes wrong on the road youíre not helpless waiting on the repair man to show up.
__________________
Coachmen Freedom Express 21QB
Farmboy666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2021, 10:26 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Bill 3rd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farmboy666 View Post
Some people arenít afraid to tackle a job and gain some knowledge along the way. That way when something goes wrong on the road youíre not helpless waiting on the repair man to show up.
I know that, I was just giving my opinion of what might be safer.
Bill 3rd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2021, 03:20 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 591
Not enough details have been presented to make any reasonable suggestions.


The thing that you are missing based on your original post, and was alluded to earlier, is that a 30 amp service is 30 amps, 3 wire (hot, neutral, ground), whereas 50 amp service, as Old-Biscuit pointed out is a four wire service with 2 50 amp legs hot 120 volt wires, a neutral, and a ground, essentially 240 volt split into 2 120 volt legs. it's really 100 amps total.



Besides the previous, "Why?"

RV Make?
Model?
Generator make and model?
# of A/Cs?
Any other heavy loads?
Inverter?

And, where is the breaker panel in relationship to the utility bay?


This is not a trivial conversion, and done improperly, could damage or destroy equipment, cause a fire, or kill someone.
__________________
2014 Itasca Sunstar 31KE
1988 Itasca Suncruiser 31RQ
1968 Travco 21'
SLOweather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2021, 03:55 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Thousand Oaks CA
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Argosy View Post
Why do you want to do this? There might be a lot easier solution.
The 'why' is the coach has two roof AC units and I would like to be able to use both at the same time. My reckoning is that the 30A breaker will not allow this all the time. No, I have not tried this while connected to a 30A service.

Thank you all for the input.

Les
Mirada2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2021, 04:03 PM   #11
Community Moderator
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 10,020
You can normally run two A/Cs at the same time on 30amps, but nothing else.

As for your original question, yes it can be done in most situations. I did the change to our '06 Itasca and it required a new 6ga 4 conductor main wire from the transfer switch to the circuit breaker panel and a new shore cord. Running the wire to the breaker panel was the hardest part of the conversion. Luckily it already had a 240v 50amp transfer switch and circuit breaker panel capable of being converted. You might have to change out both of those as well.

If you are not totally comfortable working with electrical supply then hire a certified electrician to do the conversion for you.
__________________
2017 Phaeton 40IH XSH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'16 Jeep JKU Wrangler Sahara or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2021, 05:32 PM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 19,842
Blog Entries: 21
I have changed a 30 amp trailer with 2 A/C units (15 KBTUH and only run one at a time) to 50 amp service to run them both. It takes a totally new power panel with new breakers and wiring to the power panel, a new power plug at the RV and a new 50 amp cord. Then you have to split the loads between the two legs to balance the load between L1 and L2.

The 50 amp service is really 240 volt split phase with L1, L2, G and N.

Between L1 and N you get 120 volts and 50 amps
Between L2 and N you get 120 volts and 50 amps.
Between L1 and L2 you will read 240 volts.

So with the two separate legs you get a total of 100 amps to the RV,

Unless you have a decent knowledge of electrical circuits, you will be better off hiring a competent RV electrician. A typical electrician does not understand the RV wiring.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2021, 08:07 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Ohio
Posts: 119
If you install Micro-Air Easy Start controllers on both units, you should have no problem running both on 30 amp service, they reduce start up and run amp draw significantly. They'll set you back about 500 but it would be a lot simpler than reworking electrical system. Lots of youtube videos showing installs.
__________________
1998 Georgie Boy CruiseMaster 3515
kawchop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2021, 05:43 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 591
Now we're getting somewhere. Instead of the hassle and expense of a 50 amp conversion, rewire one of the A/Cs with a plug and an outlet in the utility bay. Then use an extension cord at the CG to connect it to the 20 Amp outlet in the pedestal. I did this on our old Suncruiser. Easy and inexpensive, and it worked everywhere I used it.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Mirada2005 View Post
The 'why' is the coach has two roof AC units and I would like to be able to use both at the same time. My reckoning is that the 30A breaker will not allow this all the time. No, I have not tried this while connected to a 30A service.

Thank you all for the input.

Les
__________________
2014 Itasca Sunstar 31KE
1988 Itasca Suncruiser 31RQ
1968 Travco 21'
SLOweather is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
service, upgrade



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade from 30A to 50A. Possible? Lindan n Jim Class A Motorhome Discussions 6 08-13-2018 01:33 PM
Use of 50A Surge Protector with 30A Pigtail for 30A Shore Power hugh37 Newmar Owner's Forum 9 07-08-2016 01:14 PM
50A Coach to 30A Electrical Service jlabit Class A Motorhome Discussions 2 03-12-2014 07:49 PM
30A to 50A Shoreline Upgrade? txquigly Class A Motorhome Discussions 12 06-23-2013 03:35 PM
Power Monitor showing 50A service when on 30A service Yoda2405 RV Systems & Appliances 3 10-26-2010 03:08 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.