Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-20-2014, 11:59 AM   #1

Workhorse Chassis Owner
2014 Chevy Equinox

Just replaced the old Saturn Vue with an Equinox LTZ. The Vue was the third vehicle we've towed and we had it since 2006 and loved it. I have a Roadmaster tow bar and use a Brake Buddy. On the first 3 toads I've installed the base plates and wiring kits myself without incident. For the tail lights I've always used the kit where you install another set of bulbs in the tail light housing. I'm either getting lazy, old or both but this time I'm considering having it done by someone else. I've got a few questions for folks that are towing an Equinox. #1 Has anyone had a base plate and wiring done on a toad at Camping World and how much do they charge for labor? I know I can buy the parts for less than $400. #2 I think the front of the car looks cleaner with the Blue Ox brackets and I think I heard that you can buy an adapter to use a Roadmaster Tow Bar with the Blue Ox brackets. Has anyone done this? Long term plan is maybe to find a deal on a Blue Ox Tow Bar. #3 I haven't pulled a tail light housing yet to look but for someone that has installed the extra lights is it very tight to get them in or is there plenty of room? Any other advice from Equinox owners is appreciated. Posted on another forum too but want as much input as possible. Thanks Bob
Floridakamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!