Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-30-2015, 12:45 PM   #1

Question Help Please: Towing Ford Focus with Thor Challenger

I recently changed from 2007 Fleetwood Discovery diesel pusher to a gas powered 2016 Thor Challenger 37KT. I was just tired of diesel headaches and expense (I'm not a mechanical person) -- not to mention that I got a luxury coach for $100,000 or more less than a new Discovery would have cost me. I was towing a Chevy Traverse, but at almost 4,800 lbs I thought it would be best to trade it for something lighter (I gave up a lot of power and torque, plus 4,800 lbs is uncomfortably close to the 5,000 lb max tow weight).

I traded the 2012 Traverse for a 2015 Focus yesterday (boy, does it look a lot smaller in my car port!). It is about 1,700 lbs lighter, 2 feet shorter, and 6.6 inches narrower than the Traverse.

I have a Blue Ox Alpha tow bar and a Blue Ox Autostop supplemental breaking system with breakaway. I was getting ready to order the base plate when I realized I may need to drop the receiver a few inches (the Focus is much lower than the Traverse). I'll have to measure to know what size high-low hitch adapter.

Questions I have about this for any of you towing a Focus are:

1. What size high-low adapter do you use?
2. What kind of electrical connection do you use? (what pin cable, etc.)
3. Did you install a battery kill switch? If so, what brand?