RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 10-27-2020, 10:24 AM   #1

Honda CRV transmission is toast?

I dragged my toad 20' before I realized what happened. The car was in park. I've been towing for 8 years and never had anything like this happen. (It was a "perfect storm" that caused me to break my routine).

When I got into the CRV and put it into neutral, I had to force it. There was a dreadful clunk.

I got hooked up and returned 1600 miles to Minnesota without an incident. The CRV runs but as the speed picks up I hear a loud noise, it sounds like a helicopter overhead.

This is an '02 that was otherwise running great. I've kept it up and was toying with replacement due to it's age, but came back to wanting to keep it because it acts like a "rolling shed" for my bikes and gear inside.

Is something like this unrecoverable? Obviously, I am not going to put a new transmission in a vehicle that is almost 20 years old.

I'm looking at a new Equinox to carry me for the next 20 years.

I need the bumper sticker that says "STUFF HAPPENS".
TJFogelberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!