Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-27-2016, 01:51 PM   #1

Install RM base plate on Jeep Liberty

I've viewed the installation video on the etrailer.com site and read the comments from all the satisfied customers but I'm still a bit leary of trying to install a RoadMaster base plate by myself.

Does anyone have any direct experience installing an RM 521423-1 on a 2007 Jeep Liberty Limited? Keep in mind, I have limited mechanical skills (I was a computer engineer and marketing mgr) and my tools are limited to basic hand tools such as socket set, wrenches, pliers, screwdrivers, etc. I don't own a torque wrench nor do I have any gizmos for removing plastic body panel fasteners or other body work.

Other than the base plate kit and wiring harness, are there other parts that I "must have?" My 2010 WGO Vista 30W is already set up to tow my 1993 Geo Tracker so the motorhome side is set.

Sorry for the basic questions but mechanics isn't my thing. I'd take it to a shop but there aren't any nearby I'd trust to air up my tires. Thanks.
LeeOts is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!