Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 05-15-2021, 04:43 PM   #1

Master Tow dolly problem

Could use some advice,

I have a Master Tow Dolly that I spent this past winter to rebuild for this summer use. I bought it to haul my 2010 VW Beetle automatic. I loaded it up today (prior to my first trip of the year at the end of the month) because I wanted to make sure I had no surprises on our trip.

Well, got it loaded OK using my pick up as the tow vehicle, pulled out of my driveway on a long arch, when the dolly bed turned and wedge between the fenders and I had to unload the VW in the road, removed the large center bolt that holds the bed to the frame, lift it off and re-centered it and replaced the large bolt.

Started over, reloaded, tied down, slowly started my turn again, and again it wanted to wedge again between the fenders????

Any idea why this is happening? I search all over looking for help without any luck?

Is this unit able to haul a short wheelbase VW?

Can I drill holes in the bed and bolt it solid to the frame eliminating the swivel?

Any help would be appreciated.

Just a note, when I said it "wedged" it wedged between the fenders and ended up bending the bed up 2" and ended up on the axel support steel frame and the running board on the right side of the VW bent against the inner fender of the dolly. The bed swiveled too far and as I tried to pull forward to straighten the dolly out, it wedged more?
highwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!