Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-19-2020, 10:39 PM   #1

My first experience towing

I am relatively new to motorhomes but I bought one after some successful rental trips.

Planning to tow a car was very intimidating given all the complexity:
- weight limits of the coach
- weight limits of the tow hitch
- weight rating of the tow bar
- towability of the car
- supplemental braking systems

I did a lot of research and felt like a lot of the company marketing was high-level and useless, and a lot of advice in forums was from people who were very DIY-oriented and made it sound like taking a coach to the shop would result in people doing stuff to the coach who don’t really know what they’re doing. So I was even more intimidated, argh!!! The only confidence I got was seeing so many motorhomes towing cars and therefore thinking “how hard can the really be???”

To make a long story short, if you are in the position I was in DON’T WORRY...you do need to work through some issues but once you do it’s easy, easy, easy.

In my case:
- GCWR is 33,000 lb and GVWR of the motorhome is 29,410 lb (on a sticker inside the motorcycle, by law) but I took it to the scales (don’t be intimidated about that either) and weighed it and turns out even will full gas and fresh water etc I was only a bit over 26,000. So I could tow something up to about 7,000 lb.