Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 05-02-2018, 10:57 AM   #1

Newbie Wrangler Toad Help Please

Click image for larger version

Name:	1A14CB4D-5CCC-48BE-9962-8CDFD7EB5A28.jpeg
Views:	66
Size:	67.4 KB
ID:	201309I have a 2015 Forester Class C on a Ford E450 frame and just picked up a 2004 Jeep Wrangler TJ Sport to use as a toad. To start, I am completely new to dinghy towing and while I have a mechanical nature, I am not a mechanic.

I’ve been reading and learning, currently inclined to go with the full Ready Brute Elite system, braking, etc.

I’m unsure as to which way to go with the Jeep attachments, baseplate or bumper. Most here point towards the bumper, like a Rock Hard Patriot, for clearance reasons. My quandary is the existing bumper on my new vehicle (see pic) is quite nice. It has nice double chrome tubes front and back. Bilstein 5100 shocks, lifted, 33” tires on 15” wheels. Excuse my ignorance but does the lift negate the clearance issue with a baseplate? Other thoughts or options? Please speak simply to me (for now). I’m learning!

Bottom line- we’re going on a road trip in a month Nd a half and I need to get this all set up ASAP, but done once and right! Thanks for your help.
Russmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!