Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-02-2019, 03:25 PM   #1

Powering Toad Braking System from RV

This is my first attempt to post a question - so hopefully this is going to the right place...

I tow a mini countryman behind our Tiffin RV and have a Patriot Braking system that is currently powered using the Toad's battery. Since the mini doesn't have a steering lock, there is no need to have the ignition in some aux position - so there is no other draw on the mini's battery than the Brake System. After an 8 hour day on the road, the mini's battery is usually dead.

I would like to power the brake system directly from the RV (I believe that there is a +12V pin on the RV connector) but most articles that I've read suggest using this to "charge" the toads battery. I would prefer to simply use the RV to power the brake system (by running a +12V feed into the foot-well where the brake system sits).

Assuming I use a large enough gauge wire (14 gauge?) - will this work? Should I also run the ground from the RV connector since the RV and car are not the same ground?

Thanks for any advice ... Mark.
mvandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!